Basic Marbled Loaf Cake

The swirl reminds me of a tulip. I wonder what that says about my psyche. Seeing patterns in marbled baked goods may make a great parlor game. On the other hand, it may not last long enough. This tasty treat was baked by the Tuesdays with Dorie group back in May 2011. I’m slowly working my way through Dorie Greenspan’s Baking…From My Home to Yours–catching up on recipes I missed during my blogging sabbatical (plus a few I missed for whatever reason).

Carol from The Bake More was the host for the week and selected the Basic Marbled Loaf Cake. Visit her blog or buy the book for the recipe.

Photo by Paulrus
12 thoughts on “Basic Marbled Loaf Cake

  1. Looks delicious! It’s cool that you’re going back and doing the recipes that you missed – you’ll truly be able to say you baked every recipe in the book :)

  2. Oh yum – is it as delicious as it looks? I love the idea of going back and getting the recipes that you missed! Feel free to hit me up if you want company :D

  3. We marbled in one of my first weeks with TWD and I remember everyone complimenting everyone else on their marbling patterns – so now I will compliment you on managing to produce a marbled tulip! Actually, marbling is one of my favorite techniques I’ve learned in TWD; you never know what you’ll find until you cut the cake.

  4. I’ve been trying hard to think of a clever Georgia O’Keefe/tulip joke, but it’s just not coming. Probably better for everyone that way! Tulip or not, the marbling looks great–it’s a fine line between well-marbled and Rorschach mess. Was it delicious??

Leave a Reply

