{twd v2.0} rugelach

Rugelach: a delicious cookie best enjoyed with tea or coffee and baked every few years or so for online baking groups.

The only other time I’ve baked rugelach was for the original Tuesdays with Dorie in November of 2008. In blogging years, that was eons ago. Dinosaurs may have been roaming. My baking skills were nascent and my blog was barely 2 months old. As a marker of my progress, the TWD v1.0 rugelach was recipe #293 and the TWD v2.0 rugelach was recipe #1044. Yes, I still count all new recipes I try and list them in my Cooking Odyssey journal. They were a success back then and they were a success once again.

This time around, as written in Baking with Juliathe recipe makes a huskier rugelach.  Loaded with nuts {I used macadamia, cashews, almonds, pistachios, walnuts} and fruit {dates, apricots, raisins, crystallized ginger} and bursting with flavor they don’t make the prettiest cookie. What they lack in looks, they certainly don’t lack in taste.

Thank you to both Margaret of The Urban Hiker and Jessica of My Baking Heart for hosting this week’s recipe as we bake our way through Dorie Greenspan’s Baking with Julia in the second incarnation of Tuesdays with Dorie. You can find the recipe HERE.

Photo by Paulrus
48 thoughts on “{twd v2.0} rugelach

  1. Oh, I don’t know… I think they LOOK wonderful. {I keep a recipe list too…it’s fun to look back on it and see when I discovered something new…or tossed it in the bin. It’s not numbered, though…I like that idea!}

  2. How pretty! These were absolutely phneomenal, but I agree that once every few years is probably enough. After eating about 3 I would start to feel sick from all the sugar!

  3. Ha, that’s funny–love your definition. TWD Nov. 08 was the last time I made rugelach, too. I left the sugar coating off the outside–sure looks good on yours. These are dangerous for me because no one else here will eat them. Good thing I only made 1/4 recipe!

  4. How funny that you keep track.
    I totally agree that these are best made every few years. The last time I made rugelach was for my nieces wedding in 2010 – I can’t bear to think how many dozen of these I made at that time (or the thousands of cookies I churned out that summer in preparation… and I don’t even like making cookies).
    It looks like your cookies turned out beautifully – I wonder what book you’ll be cooking from when it’s time to make them again :-)

  5. Mmm. If I had macadamia nuts, they wouldn’t have made it into the cookies, they would have been long gone.

    I agree these are a once every couple of years kind of cookie, best baked on a long, snowy weekend when you have nothing else pressing to do.

  6. I love your “husky” description! This was a first time baking them for me and I wasn’t sure I would be making them again but everyone LOVED them…so maybe…:) Yours look great!

  7. Ok, I love that you keep track of your recipes, that is just awesome! I enjoyed Dorie’s rugelach a lot so I definitely need to try this version too.

  8. I like this version; mine is the evil twin with all the darker nuts and fruits. I’m fine with it not being the prettiest, because maybe people will leave more for us… oh wait, take them away!

  9. They look great Wendy! Is the Rugelach recipe from the original TWD same as this one? Must check it out somehow I don’t want my first and last time to make rugelach to be a disaster LOL

  10. Your rugelach look a whole lot better than mine, but I definitely agree about the taste. I love the rugelach definition at the beginning of your post; I’ve only ever baked these things twice also.

  11. I agree, this made a lot of cookies, rich cookies. They were great but intensive. I might have ate the lekvar right out of the jar with a spoon….

  12. I love that you number the recipes! This was only recipe #3 for me with this group and blogging about it. And the first time I’ve made or tasted rugelach. Your blog looks great, something to aspire to.

  13. Your rugelach are beautiful and “husky” is spot on! I agree with you, the taste definitely made up for anything lacking in the looks department.

  14. :) thank you for visiting my new blog! :) later I’ll try to write the posts in english too :)

    your rugelach looked delicious! were they crunchy on the next day?

  15. Oooh, I like it… “huskier”, that’s a great way to describe v2.0 versus v1.0. When I was reading the instructions I kept thinking “no, that’s not how you do it, in BFMHTY we did it this way….” Oh well, gotta be flexible, right? These were tasty and yours look delish!

Leave a Reply

