Orange-Buttermilk Dinner Rolls

Oh, magazine recipes.  In my quest to create order out of chaos and make recipes out of my magazine pile, I came across a recipe for Orange-Buttermilk Dinner Rolls. It hails from the November 2010 issue of Cooking Light and probably makes a lovely side for a Thanksgiving Dinner.

As it is, it’s barely March but still a very appropriate time for these rolls. As their name implies, the bread uses buttermilk and orange zest for flavor. They are delicious sliced in half, toasted, and served with an egg. They are also good plain.  The zest lends a fresh taste and the buttermilk it’s trademark tang. I  imagine they would be tasty with turkey and mashed potatoes too.

Orange-Buttermilk Dinner Rolls recipe

Photo by Paulrus
16 thoughts on “Orange-Buttermilk Dinner Rolls

  1. I’ve been looking for a good dinner roll, and these sound promising! Can’t wait to try them, I have a carton of buttermilk I need to use up too luckily.

  2. These look so pillowy and delicious! Yay for using magazine recipes! I sometimes fold mine in half and stick them in cookbooks, so whenever I’ve come across one I saved lately I think of your giant magazine recipe pile and how I need to try to use some of mine too :)

Leave a Reply

