magazine recipes

20120203-234028.jpg

I have a problem. I’m sure many of you have the same problem. Anytime I see a recipe I like in a magazine I rip it out and add it to the pile. I like a lot of recipes.
I’m slowly ending subscriptions to magazines and I don’t buy magazines at the store anymore so my pile of recipes isn’t growing as fast as it did in the past.
My pile currently resides in the library closet. By library I mean our spare room with piles of books, bags of old clothes that need to be donated, and junk that has no other home. Nothing as fancy as shelves.

How do you organize your magazine recipes? In the past I tried organizing by type. Now I think I’m going to try organization by month of publication. That way when it’s February 2014, I can look at my February pile and pick a seasonally appropriate recipe. I don’t know. I probably should just throw them all away. Until I do, I’m challenging myself to make two magazine recipes a month.

10 thoughts on “magazine recipes

  1. I don’t even tear mine out, so I have stacks and stacks of magazines just sitting around collecting dust. It’s an ongoing battle but I think your idea of trying to make 2/month is a good one!

  2. I used to save every recipe I ever saw, even ones like roast alligator with truffles. Am I really going to make this, no! I now only save the recipes I’m sure I’m going to make and throw away the rest. I then file my recipes in folders with an index and content so I can find the recipe quickly!

  3. I like your seasonal idea. I have two shoeboxes – fall/winter and spring/summer, so at least I only look in one at a time. But, on the other hand, when I look at how some of my favorite magazines have changed, and not for the better, I’m very glad I’ve hung on to my clippings for dear life. :)

  4. I’m wondering what you do with the page after you make a recipe. I can’t stand paper, so I try to find the recipe online, and if I can’t I scan it and then toss it. Either way, it ends up in Evernote, where I can tag it so I can find it later. And sometimes I actually MAKE the recipe too!

  5. Ahh, love the description of your library, we had one of those rooms at our old house. I kind of miss it, now everything has to have a place! Thank goodness when our addition is done we *should* have an office that can hold most of that, ahem, stuff ;)

    Anyway, how to organize them, hmm, I like the seasonal idea. I’d get some of those three ring binders and clear page protectors and stick the recipes in there back to back and sort them with page tabs. I love the idea of doing two recipes a month, I mean, they’ve got to be a little appealing since you are the one that felt them rip-out worthy, right? Should be fun!

  6. I have a stack or two of clippings, but I refuse to buy new magazines so my pile doesn’t grow very fast. I don’t get around to using them very often, but I’m doing a better job of turning to my cookbooks now that I use Eat Your Books. Recipes I run across online get saved to Evernote on my computer. I try to not pin many recipes on pinterest, because that’s just one more “pile”! Ultimately there are too many recipes in the world and not enough meals, lol.

  7. I’m with Jill, Evernote has made my recipe organization so much less stressful. Plus it’s nice to be out, decide I want to make something, and be able to view the recipe from the app on my phone. Let’s just say it cuts down on unnecessary trips to the grocery store (for my husband of course, because he’s usually the one who gets sent!).

Leave a Reply

