{twd} fold-over pear torte

This was one of those desserts that seem easier/a good idea on paper. I really had to go on faith with this one. Especially because my mother was taking it to a dinner party. The Fold-Over Pear Torte is really a pie baked in a springform pan. One of my talents in the baking world is that I can do good pie crust. It was the fold-over part that was a bit dicey for me. I don’t think I quite mastered the technique which required flipping and rolling on the side and who knows what else.

The filling is diced fresh pears, cut up dried apricots, and chopped walnuts in a custard. It clearly states in the directions to not remove the torte from the pan before it reaches room temperature. Well, like always, my parents arrived early without calling. I loosened the torte and removed the springform part. Hoping it wasn’t a disaster… It looked gorgeous! Especially after I sprinkled some powdered sugar. Reports back from the dinner party are positive. They thought it was excellent.

Thanks to Cakelaw of Laws of the Kitchen for hosting this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection. If you would like the recipe, visit her blog or buy the book.

15 thoughts on “{twd} fold-over pear torte

  1. I am with you – I think the scariest moment was when I went to unmould it, in case it crumbled or oozed. Your torte turned out fantastic – such a beautiful golden colouration on the crust. Thanks for baking along!

Leave a Reply

