{twd} tender shortcakes

Open my refrigerator and you will see nothing but fruits and vegetables. Okay, you will heavy cream and butter too; I’m a baker after all.  I go crazy for summer fruit and vegetables. I have blackberries, blueberries, raspberries, cherries, peaches, pineapple, bananas, plums. I have brussel sprouts, green beans, tomatoes, squash, red yellow orange bell peppers, cucumbers, carrots, broccoli. I can’t help myself.

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe is for Tender Shortcakes, a perfect mate for the season’s berries.  This is basically a biscuit recipe, but uh d’uh–more tender. Easy to throw together, easy to freeze, easy to top.

Thanks to Cathy of The Tortefeasor for hosting this week. Cathy is a wonder woman. A working mom to three gorgeous children. I’m busy enough and it’s just me.  Cathy is a funny, awesome writer so check out her blog for the recipe and the writing.

(Yikes, and now that it’s June–it means it is almost my turn to host.)

29 thoughts on “{twd} tender shortcakes

  1. The shortcake looks delicious – and with that gorgeous mix of berries! Yum! I go crazy with fresh fruit in summertime too. It’s just too tempting!!

  2. You have my kind of refrigerator! I’m so glad that you enjoyed these shortcakes. Yours look incredible, as always. And thank you so much for your nice words – I think you are pretty cool yourself, Pink! Thanks so much for baking along with me this week. I can’t WAIT for your vanilla cakes!!

  3. This is one of the best times of year with all the fresh fruit. Farmers market peaches are one of my favorites. Looking forward to baking your selection.

  4. It looks wonderful with the mix of berries! Mmm..summer produce! It’s not quite ready here yet, but we do have strawberries. :)

  5. That’s totally my fridge too – packed chock full of fruits and veggies, butter and milk and cream :) Love your shortcakes, with the berries spilling everywhere.

  6. I want to come eat at your house Wendy – sounds delicious :) Your shortcake looks terrific, love all those berries! I have to wait a little longer for the gorgeous blueberries and raspberries to be in season here.

  7. Love the combination of berries you used, so pretty and your shortcakes look perfect! My frig is NOT my own, I have to share occupancy with 3 guys, trust me, 90% of it totally NOT me…LOL.

  8. Have I really not stopped by here yet to see your shortcakes? Sometimes it’s crazy to try to catch up on the reader.
    I have a TON of fruits and veggies, too. LOVE when the farmers’ market starts back up again and I get up early every Saturday to go stock up. I keep wondering why I end up with really overripe bananas–probably because of all the other fruit choices around lately.
    Your shortcakes look de-lish!

Leave a Reply

