{sms} mini strawberry rhubarb cobblers

With apologies to Tracey, I only made a third of the components of this week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler Pie. It was supposed to be a biscuit-topped cobbler in a pie crust. I didn’t make the pie crust and I’m not a fan of biscuit toppings for cobblers. I made the strawberry-rhubarb filling though!

For the the cobbler topping I used Mark Bittman’s recipe from How to Cook Everything and I made 1/2 the recipe of the filling which I baked in mini-ramekins. I ate mine with Fresh Ginger Ice Cream a la David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop. It was the perfect dessert for a warm lazy Saturday afternoon.

Thanks to Tracey of Tracey’s Culinary Adventures for hosting this week. Check out her blog for the recipe and  her fabulous content/pictures. She’s also one of my blogging friends, although I admit I haven’t been active in the food blogging world as of late.

21 thoughts on “{sms} mini strawberry rhubarb cobblers

  1. Looks great and the ginger ice cream sounds divine! I have been wanting to make some ice cream and have David’s book so I may be making ice cream today too…

  2. Thanks for your kind words Wendy and for baking along this week! I love what you did – the full pie was a lot of work so this is a great shortcut to enjoy some of the same flavors. The minis are adorable and I bet they were fabulous with that ginger ice cream!

  3. I’m glad I’m not the only one who wondered if you really needed a pie crust and a topping. I did make both, though. Your minis look great and that ice cream sounds amazing.

  4. These look so cute and yummy! I love minis plus they are great for portion control :) And the ice cream sounds really good.

Leave a Reply

