{twd} sweet cream biscuits

I’m so excited. Why? Because my biscuits rose. The secret? Not caring, baking them after a night out, and {maybe} drinking {more than} a couple of beers.

I was out and about town on Saturday night with a friend when I said, “This is going to sound weird, but I want to go home and make biscuits”. And that’s what we did.

This was a super-easy recipe, even easier than last week’s Swedish Visiting Cake, with minimal ingredients: flour, cream, a bit of sugar, baking powder, and salt. The dough came together quickly, I stamped out twelve 2-inch biscuits, and threw them in the oven.  When I saw that they rose in the oven, I did a little dance of joy.  Fun times.

Saturday Night Biscuits

Thanks to Melissa of Love at First Bite for hosting this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection, Sweet Cream Biscuits. If you would like the recipe, visit her blog or buy the book.

29 thoughts on “{twd} sweet cream biscuits

  1. Am cracking up laughing at your post. I knew you would have some perfect looking biscuits over here, as your things are always perfect-looking, but I had no idea how you would achieve that this week…you are so funny (and fun!). They look wonderful.

  2. Wow, did they ever rise! Your biscuits are gorgeous! Great idea to use a 2in cutter, too. I used a glass and ended up with six enormous biscuits.

  3. Your biscuits look like perfection. Who know slightly buzzed baking was the key to perfect results? I’ll have to give it a try after I have the baby in July. Nothing like a couple of beers to make everything better.

  4. Oh man, and all this time I couldn’t figure out what I did wrong with my biscuits. Guess I’ll have to get out of my house and have a few drinks before I make the next batch! Then hopefully they’ll be as tall and gorgeous as yours!

  5. I obviously hadn’t had enough to drink before I made mine. They’re about half the size of yours! I’ll make sure to remedy that next week. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

