{twd} Nancy’s Pick!

Ack! Weekends have been full with yard work, junk-clearing (no, I really don’t need my college textbooks), and social obligations that I haven’t had much time to bake.  However, there was no way I was going to miss this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie.

You see, this week, the host is Nancy of The Dog Eats the Crumbs. Nancy is awesome. She’s been a great blogging friend and I’ve had tons of fun baking along with her via Twitter.

And Nancy selected an awesome recipe: Swedish Visiting Cake. When I first paged through Baking…From My Home to Yours, the cake intrigued me.  Traditionally, it’s baked in a cast-iron pan and it’s a very simple/easy almond-vanilla cake to make.  Really, it is so easy and it was a big hit with the family–there is no reason why I won’t make it again.

Thanks, Nancy! A great pick! For the recipe, visit her blog or buy the book.

35 thoughts on “{twd} Nancy’s Pick!

  1. Thanks for fitting this cake into your crazy schedule (and thanks for the kind words and the fab title of your post!) Love how light your cake looks and I’m glad it was a hit with the fam. I need to be doing some Spring cleaning but instead I’m reading blog posts!

  2. yes, it’s so easy to make that it wasn’t hard to squeeze into a busy day. you threw out your college texts? i can’t seem to part with mine, even though i don’t recognize a thing in them anymore…

  3. Can you come to my house and help with my junk-clearing? We hold on to everything – even things we don’t have any need for anymore. We somehow find a way to rationalize….

    The cake looks great! I enjoyed this one too – and bonus that it was so simple.

  4. I hear ya about college textbooks! I just can’t bring myself to throw them away. Who knows when I’ll need my Molecular Biology or Fundamentals of Physics book someday?? B/c you know as soon as I throw it away I’ll need it. I’m sounding like a hoarder huh? HA HA! Glad you enjoyed the cake. It was a hit at my house too!
    -CB
    http://iheartfood4thought.com

  5. What, no need for college textbooks?! I didn’t think I would, and now look at me – hauling out my organic chemistry text :P But I’m glad you had the time to whip this together – your cake looks awesome!

  6. Good luck with your busy schedule! I need to spring clean . . . but I’m moving in a few months so it seems kind of pointless.

    Your cake looks splendid, and I’m glad you found a recipe that you’ll make again and again!

  7. That’s a great photo of your cake – looks soo inviting! =)
    I’m so with you on the college textbooks! Don’t ask me why I need to save my college textbooks when they’re so outdated already! Yipes.

  8. I’m so glad you liked this cake! I totally loved it, and since I’m the baker around here, that means it’s going to get baked a whole lot. Fortunately, everyone seems to love this cake. Great pix!

  9. I didn’t make mine in cast iron either as I keep thinking of all the things I have made in that pan and suddenly the thought of baking a cake in there didn’t seem all that appealing. Yours looks really pretty.

  10. What a great looking cake! I’m inspired by your junk clearing. I don’t have textbooks but I’ve never been able to part with my CPA review books. What’s up with that??

Leave a Reply

