The $37 Drink

While I was in Vegas I craved a frozen strawberry daquari. In town there are alcoholic slushie stands EVERYWHERE. Of course, when I was craving one I couldn’t find one anywhere. I eventually found one…and it ended up costing me $37. Yes, $37 for a drink. It was larger, but still.

We stayed in a timeshare with a full-kitchen, including a blender. And as luck would have it, we also had all the ingredients to make my version of the $37 drink. It tasted awesome and  a lot better than the one I bought because the ingredients were all fresh and natural.

Here’s how I made it:

  • a bunch of strawberries (brought for the road trip, but not eaten)
  • a banana (ditto)
  • a bit of club soda (brought to make my favorite drink in the world: vodka + club soda with lime)

Blend it up until it’s a nice puree.

  • Add a bunch of ice (full-kitchen=ice machine)

Blend some more until it has a slushie consistency

  • Add a few sugar packets, to taste (part of the coffee set-up)
  • 5 generous shots of vodka (again, brought along for my favorite drink)
  • freshly squeezed lime juice (ditto)

Blend until just mixed. Pour and serve! It made 3 1/2 drinks.

7 thoughts on “The $37 Drink

  1. Ah, don’t you hate that when you pay lots of money for something you can make better at home? Glad you were able to take care of your strawberry daiquiri craving :)

  2. I was in Las Vegas recently and was intrigued by the idea of an alcoholic slurpee. I somehow knew one would be a bad idea, though. Your version looks yummy.

  3. Wow! I think the most I paid for a cocktails was almost $30 for a Singapore Sling (in Singapore at The Raffles Hotel) where it originated. ;-) Your version looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

