{sms} apple pie with benefits

Apple pie with benefits? Yes. Usually the benefits would be ice cream. Vanilla is traditional, but cinnamon or Calvados ice creams would rock too.

In this case, the benefit is a sweet & creamy caramel sauce. Tart granny Smith apples play a nice counterpoint.

This week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays recipe–Double-Crusted Caramel Apple Pie was the bee’s knees. It was a cinch to throw together; it helped having pie crust in the freezer (I used something in my freezer! One down, a gazillion to go!).

The original recipe makes one 10 inch pie. I had 1/2 of Dorie Greenspan’s Good for Almost Anything Pie Crust which was not enough for the full size pie. It was just enough for one super-cute 4″ pie.

Short and sweet–I’m writing this on Friday as I walk out the door to head to Vegas for the weekend and on Sunday I’ll be heading back home. I just got back into the groove of baking and blogging and didn’t want to miss a beat.

Thanks to Susan of Baking with Susan for hosting this week. If you would like the recipe, visit her blog or buy the book.

22 thoughts on “{sms} apple pie with benefits

  1. Has your freezer been hanging out with my freezer? It’s a mixed blessing having a freezer full of stuff…on the one hand, you have a freezer full of stuff, on the other hand, you have a freezer that’s full, and you can’t put in new stuff. Your pie looks so good!

  2. YUM! Looks amazing. I hope it tasted amazing too.

    As for a freezer full of everything, my part of the freezer up at school has thin mints and reeses pieces. How unhealthy of me. ACK!

  3. Cute little pie Wendy! If I had pie crust in my freezer I’d make pie WAY too much. Having to make the crust deters me :) Hope you had fun in Vegas!

  4. I love your little pie! I didn’t get to make this one because of time this week – I’ve been traveling and just got back last night. However after looking at everyone’s results, I think this one might be going on my short list!

  5. This is so cute! I’m glad you’re back into baking / blogging (I wish I was), I’ve missed your posts.

  6. Your mini pie looks great! Cinnamon ice cream sounds like it would have been the perfect pairing with these.

    Glad you’re back, hope you had an amazing weekend in Vegas :)

  7. You always have a way of making something ordinary seen extra-ordinary! This is so pretty and I love the smallness of it, etc. It sparkles!

Leave a Reply

