{bba} not lavash crackers

I’m good. Yes, I’m patting myself on the back for baking AND writing three posts this week. And I have the burn from a 500° F oven on my hand to prove it.

The next bread for me to bake from the Bread Baker’s Apprentice as part of the Challenge was Lavash Crackers. Instead of making the crackers, I decided to make the optional pitas. The recipe yielded six 2-ounce pitas. Which wasn’t enough because these were so delicious. Not dry, like store-bought pitas. Fluffy and light, these were perfect.

Baking pitas is fun too. You roll them in balls and then flatten them into 1/4″ thick circles. Toss them on the baking stone (it’s here where I burnt my hand). Watch them as they bake and as soon as they puff up and form pita balloons, you count to 10 and then they are done.

12 thoughts on “{bba} not lavash crackers

  1. I skipped over this one for now, since I’ve made the crackers before. I do want to try the pita variation at some point, especially now that I’ve seen yours. =) They look yummy.

  2. These look awesome! And I’m envious that you are further along than me ;)
    My next recipe to bake is Kaiser rolls… seems like I’m never going to get around to it… haha!
    Next time you make pitas, try baking them on your grill- life changing, I swear!

  3. I made both the pitas and the lavash. My pitas burned up (inattentiveness on my part) but the crackers were the best I’ve ever tasted. I need to try pitas again – yours look so good.

  4. I need to go back and make pitas with this recipe. I thought about it at the time, and then promptly forgot about it until I saw yours here. They look wonderful, love that small size, too.

Leave a Reply

