{sms} carrot cake with cream cheese frosting

Wow. It’s been a while. Hello, kitchen. How you doin’? Yes, I’m back in the kitchen and baking again. And it feels great. Too much time has passed since I used it last.

I finally returned to baking with this week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays selection: Carrot Cake with Fresh Orange Cream Cheese Frosting.

I like carrot cake. I think it’s niftier with raisins, which this recipe didn’t have. So I added raisins, which I made drunk by soaking them in rum first. YUM. I also halved the recipe and baked three mini-cakes in my 4″ inch round pans. One went into the freezer for carrot cake emergencies, one went to a party, and one went to the family.

Thank you to Julie of A Little Bit of Everything for hosting this week’s selection. If you would like the recipe, visit her blog or buy the book–The Sweet Melissa Baking Book.

19 thoughts on “{sms} carrot cake with cream cheese frosting

  1. Yay, welcome back Wendy!! We’ve missed you :) I made mini cakes too – though not as many as you. Love the addition of drunk raisins; I went with pineapple instead of the nuts. Great job – your cake looks terrific!

  2. Welcome back! Yummmmmm… alcohol makes everything better!

    May I ask how long you can keep a frozen cake? Ive always wanted to try it but afraid that I might forget its in the freezer.

  3. Oooooo beautiful! And the orange icing, I’m sold!

    I am reaching out to my fellow foodies today to see if they on my Food Bloggers Discussion List. If you are not we would love to have you! Email me amanda AT amandascookin.com

  4. Hi, I just started baking with SMS..and I have to say your cake looks so amazingly delicious. I love that you added raisins =).
    –Ruby

  5. Love the cake with the frosting just on top and between the layers! It’s a great presentation. Although, I like several others are interested in those carrot cake emergencies :-)

Leave a Reply

