{sms} red velvet cupcakes

There was controversy with this week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays recipe selection. Apparently, one person in my life really can’t stand red velvet cupcakes/cake. He doesn’t understand cocoa-flavored red cake. I was on the fence about making it. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted it. I was out of town this weekend and no one was saying, “yes yes make it!”.

Anyway, I got home and read the recipe and realized I didn’t have to wait for butter to soften (cake part) so I decided to go ahead and make it, but instead of a Red Velvet Cake I made cupcakes for easier work-distribution. Even though the recipe didn’t require butter to soften, it did require canola oil. Since I made the Little Snackie Things, I didn’t have any canola oil. After briefly debating whether it would be okay to use olive oil, I jumped in my car (in my pajamas) and ran to the store to buy it.

In the end, I’m glad I made the cupcakes. I thought they were delicious. I love the slight taste of cinnamon and cocoa. The cream cheese frosting makes it even better, but I also thought they were great plain.

Thanks to Rosy of Rosy Lips and Lavender for hosting this week’s recipe. For the recipe, please visit her blog or buy the book.

18 thoughts on “{sms} red velvet cupcakes

  1. I’m so pleased you liked them!!! I think they caused controversy amongst the group as a whole – not entirely sure they’re everyone’s cup of tea but I liked them and yours just look absolutely stunning! Thank you so much for baking along with me this week. R x

  2. I haven’t tried this recipe yet, because I am one of those people who doesn’t “get” red velvet.

    That being said, I still wouldn’t turn one down!

  3. Wendy, I love red velvet cake, actually we got one slice from the Cheesecake Factory last night…yummie. I always want to make them and like you in a cup cake version…nice picture!

  4. Hope you enjoyed your weekend away! Your cupcakes are adorable. So glad you enjoyed them after you made a special trip out for the oil. For me, these were all about the frosting :)

Leave a Reply

