{twd} a simple flan

Unlike last week, in which I made the Cocoa-Nana Bread but didn’t blog about it, this week I didn’t make the Milk Chocolate Mini Bundt Cakes. And I’m blogging about something completely different.

The Caramel-Topped Flan was a Tuesdays with Dorie selection way back in March 2008. If you haven’t made it, you need to make it ASAP. If you have made it, you need to make it again NOW. A very simple recipe with very simple ingredients. The right texture, flavor, and looks of a great flan. I made it for a margaritas and ceviche party I  attended and it was a big hit.  Steph at A Whisk and a Spoon hosted that week and you can find the recipe HERE or in the book.

I have nothing against Milk Chocolate Mini Bundt Cakes, I just didn’t have time to make them this week. They didn’t require a visit to the store–I had all the ingredients on hand. I attempted to make them twice, or at least to the point of removing the butter from the refrigerator to soften it and then a few hours later putting it back into the refrigerator.

When do we get the 30 hour days and the 8 day weeks??

26 thoughts on “{twd} a simple flan

  1. This was the first TWD recipe I made and it was a huge success. Looks like yours turned out great.
    When you get the extra days/hours added to the week, make sure you let me know!

  2. Wendy,
    I am in the flan lover category. Love all things “eggy” hehe. I will put that on my list of recipes to do. Looks so delicious and comforting especially since winter is still around. Ready for the sunshine here. Have fun in Mexico.
    AmyRuth

  3. This was picked before I joined, but it looks so good I’m tempted to make it anyway.

    I’m all for the eight day weeks if I get three day weekends. Just sayin’.

  4. I have done that many, many times. Get the butter out in the morning and put it back in the fridge at night!
    The flan looks great, I actually haven’t really eaten flan in my life, that I recall. Love caramel though!

  5. I second the vote for 30 hour days – those extra few hours would so come in handy! I haven’t actually tried this flan. It was one of the recipes from right before I joined TWD but maybe I’ll get to it eventually. It looks great!

  6. I LOVE LOVE LOVE flan, and yours looks amazing. I need to make one soon, but the thing is, I can eat the whole thing – not good lol I need to try this recipe for it, eventually :)

  7. Oh, this looks so wonderful. No, no, no, I do not need to make this as soon as possible, and I have purposefully stayed away from this so I don’t know how to make it b/c I know me, and while most desserts I can take a bite or two and I’m done, this one is one that I would just keep taking the bites or two until it was gone!!!! Yours looks so pretty and perfect!

Leave a Reply

