Chocolate! Peanut Butter! Scones!

Need I write more? Who doesn’t love the combination of chocolate & peanut butter? Hannah of BitterSweet had the genius of making scones with them. Scones! Yes, scones. A treat you can call breakfast.

Chocolate-Glazed Peanut Butter Scones was the second recipe I tried from Hannah’s book, My Sweet Vegan. Not only is there peanut butterĀ  (chunky!) in the scones, there is peanut butter (smooth!) in the chocolate drizzle.

Like all scones, the dough quickly came together. Instead of making four large scones as directed in the recipe, I made 12 mini-scones. The texture was very scone-like–a little dry, crumbly, and with just a hint of sweet. I’ve made vegan scones that were more cake-like in texture. When I make a scone, I want it to taste like a scone and they did.

I baked them for a meeting and they were enjoyed by all. The problem with making minis is that people can’t just eat one and they were gone quicker than it took to bake them–12 minutes.

If you would like the recipe, buy the book.

19 thoughts on “Chocolate! Peanut Butter! Scones!

  1. My two fav flavors ever in a scone. This makes me want scones..which is a rarity, since I don’t usually flip over them. I find them a bit dry and I don’t drink tea LOL. Leave it to you to come up with one thats making my palate tingle and my tummy grumble. They look amazing!!

  2. Definitely think this qualifies for breakfast. And lunch. And dinner. Yep, these are very versatile and should be made frequently. You are very good at the drizzling thing…want to teach me?

Leave a Reply

