{twd} cheesecake!

I was so excited for Christmas this year. In my family we celebrate Christmas Eve and go our separate ways on Christmas Day. This year was my first time hosting Christmas Eve dinner. Since I was hosting, I got to choose the menu. And since I only cook vegetarian, I chose a vegetarian menu. This was exciting because it was going to be the first 100% vegetarian Christmas Eve.

It took me awhile to figure out the menu–looking through magazines and my cookbooks. I knew I would have dessert in the bag–I can always count on Dorie Greenspan and Tuesdays with Dorie for a great pick. I finally found my menu in Sunset Magazine‘s Best of 2009 Holiday Issue.

Well, guess what?? My parents showed up with a HAM. Yes, a ham. They came in with a dome-shaped thing covered in foil and I asked suspiciously, “What is that??!”. Can you believe it?

At least I had plenty of dessert and Veuve Cliquot to console me.

the offending ham

Thank you to Margaret of Tea and Scones for hosting this week. The cheesecake was delicious, baked beautitully, and was a hit with the family. I topped my cheesecake with crushed candy cane to make it a bit festive. If you would like the recipe, please visit Margaret’s blog or buy the book!

31 thoughts on “{twd} cheesecake!

  1. LOL about your parents and the ham! Sorry! I’m not a vegetarian, but my stepmother is. I can’t imagine Christmas dinner without either ham, turkey or roast. :-p

    Your cheesecake looks awesome! I’m waiting for the sun to come up so I can get some decent pics :)

  2. LOL! You’ve just gotta love parents, huh? I hope they at least sampled some of your other delicious sounding dishes. The cheesecake looks wonderful, as does everything else in your pics. Love the crushed candy on top!

  3. What a bummer that they had to bring a ham to your veggie meal! Your dishes all sound de-lish to me and I’m not vegetarian!
    And your cheesecake looks really good! Love the little mints on top. I didn’t even think of anything to add to mine and we decided it really did need something.
    Happy New Year, Wendy!

  4. Wow! You made a fantastic holiday meal…they couldn’t have needed that Ham!!! I was so happy that this year a few of my in-laws joined us for Thanksgiving dinner and they all said they didn’t even miss the turkey!!
    Peace, Stephanie

  5. That’s something my parents would do – so I totally understand!

    Your menu looks and sounds perfect – you had quite an array of delicious choices.

  6. Hahaha! Sorry there was a ham at your dinner! My daughter-in-law is a vegetarian and last time we had them over for dinner I made a spinach pie using filo dough. It was a first for me and she (and I) loved it! Love the cheesecake with the peppermint candies on top. Too pretty.

  7. Wow, your Xmas Eve feast sounds and looks fabulous! I am keen to try out some of those recipes. Boo to the ham at the vegetarian feast! Your cheesecake looks great with the crushed candy canes on top – good idea.

  8. How dare they?! I love vegetarian meals, and yours looks awesome. And while I’m not a fan of mint and chocolate, I like the addition of the candy canes crushed on top :)

  9. The crushed candy canes on your cheesecake are so fun! Your meal really sounds delicious, especially the stew (and the fact that it’s 50% dessert).

    It’s so funny that your parents brought a ham. I hope they enjoyed all of the dishes that you made.

  10. I made a prime rib for Xmas dinner, so I can’t relate to a vegetaraian holiday meal, although I have no doubt yours was delicious. That said, your cheesecake is to die for! Wishing you and yours a happy and healthy New Year!

  11. oh no they didn’t…i would have thrown that ham right out the window (no beef, pork, lamb allowed in my house…even if it’s not for me)! your menu sounded great…and i love all the desserts! happy new year!

  12. LOVE the candy cake topping. Bet it would have been good with peppermint in the chocolate. May have to consider that for next time

    Thanks for baking with me this week.

  13. Hahaha can’t believe they showed up with a ham – that’s too funny! Your menu sounded great and I’m impressed with all of the desserts – you outdid yourself!

Leave a Reply

