{sms} boozy cake with fruit and nuts

IMGP7322

Technically this is a fruitcake, but in reality it was more cake than fruit and a boozy one at that. Instead of making one loaf, I made minis for easier sharing. These were a big hit at both work and with the family. The recipe called for brandy and amazingly enough my liquor collection (in existence only since I started baking) does not have brandy. Instead of brandy I used amaretto.

Thank you to Karin of Sugar and Spice & Everything Nice for hosting Golden Almond Fruitcake, this week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays. If you would like the recipe, visit her blog or buy the book.

(Today I am in Rarotonga, Cook Islands.)

17 thoughts on “{sms} boozy cake with fruit and nuts

  1. Great title! Got my attention! I skipped making this one…not a fruitcake fan and there were too many ingredients I didn’t have on hand. Your minis look great!

Leave a Reply

