Thomas Keller’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMGP7371

If you haven’t already baked these cookies that have taken the food blog world by storm, you must drop everything and make them NOW. Seriously, they caused an existential crisis in me. They are that GOOD.

At first, you take a bite and think: “it’s a chocolate chip cookie. it’s good” and then the flavor hits. AMAZING. It’s like an EVIL TWIN of the standard chocolate chip cookie. A little darker, a little mysterious, and very irresistible. And I’ve always been drawn to the bad boys. The recipe uses special dark (molasses) brown sugar, no vanilla, and makes you sift your chopped chocolate (two kinds: I used 41% milk and 70%)  to make sure there is no chocolate dust in the cookie.

In celebration of the opening of Bouchon Beverly Hills this month, I made Thomas Keller’s Chocolate Chip Cookies from his new cookbook Ad Hoc.

If you don’t know by now, I am a big fan of Bouchon. And that’s putting it mildly. I’ve been counting down the days for the local branch of Bouchon to open…but because of my travel and the holidays I probably won’t make it to the restaurant until after the New Year. :(

Of course, now that I’ve tried the cookies I really want to go to Ad Hoc the restaurant.

You can find the recipe for these bad boys HERE. The recipe says to place 8 per sheet, I baked six per sheet and would suggest that number because they do spread.

IMGP7370

32 thoughts on “Thomas Keller’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Looking good…mine were flat like that, too, so maybe I did do them right. I thought they should be more puffy or something I guess since they started out as balls. LOL. It was fun being in on the process with you.

  2. Ooh, I thought I found an “end my search for the perfect CCC” recipe, but these looks really good. Must put them up against my new favorite. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I wanna go to Ad Hoc!! Um… and Bouchon! Um… and the French Laundry! I’ve a serious obsession with the food Thomas Keller makes. Love the cookbooks to pieces (literally, the spine on my French Laundry cookbook is cracked from looking at the pictures), just picked up Ad Hoc At Home and am totally looking forward to cooking from it~ it’s a little more approachable than his other books. Will have to give these a try!

  4. My mom just bought all three of Thomas Keller’s books – which means I’ll just have to mosey over and swipe Ad Hoc, so I can get the recipe.

    These must be the cookies you were talking about on Facebook the other night – and they do look really, really good.

  5. Your cookies look wonderful! I agree that they are wonderful! BTW, I baked more tonight, chilled dough from the fridge, and they spread about the same as the unchilled dough. Six on a sheet us DEFINITELY the right call (I did 6 tonight – much better).

  6. Your cookies look so much better than mine! I’m going to keep trying, because this recipe has such great flavor. Just need to get the texture and doneness worked out. I love them flat and gooey like yours. (I rushed my post because of the giveaway and the 300th post milestone, so didn’t have time to get the cookies perfect – if I can!)

  7. Ok I definitely need to try these cookies after a rave review like that! Sorry I missed the Twitter bake-along on these – looks like you guys had fun and got some delicious cookies out of the deal!

  8. Darn you people, making me want, no, need to try another ccc recipe! I’m going to you know! They look great and with a review like yours, I can’t pass it up!

Leave a Reply

