{sms}Pear Cranberry Muffins with Spice Cookie Crumble Topping

muffin2

(I heart my new iPhone for lots of different reasons. One reason is the WordPress App that lets me write posts from anywhere. I started this post while in the mountains surrounding Idyllwild waiting for the rest of my hike group to show up.)

I’ve never seen muffins disappear as quickly as these mini Pear Cranberry Muffins with Spice Cookie Crumble. I don’t know if it was the muffin itself or the crumble or people really like muffins with crumble toppings. Either way, these muffins were a big hit at both work and a meeting/party I attended.

idyllwild

I made the full recipe which made 24 minis and 9 full size. I didn’t have a lemon, so I used lime zest. I also chopped the fresh cranberries instead of keeping them whole. I also subbed white whole wheat flour for some of the all-purpose flour. For the crumble topping, instead of gingersnaps I used Dorie Greenspan’s Sugar-Topped Spice Cookies. The cookies are the November 17th pick for Tuesdays with Dorie. I like it when baking groups become symbiotic. :P

Thank you to Jennifer of Maple N’ Cornbread for selecting Pear Cranberry Muffins with Gingersnap Crumble for this week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays. If you would like the recipe, visit her blog or buy the book.

muffin

36 thoughts on “{sms}Pear Cranberry Muffins with Spice Cookie Crumble Topping

  1. every time I read one of your sweet melissa sundays posts I tell myself how much I need to buy that book! These sound fantastic- that’s so funny about the TWD spice cookies fitting into this recipe so nicely. I loved those cookies, so incorporating them into a muffin is the next logical step!

  2. I heart my Iphone too – I really should download the WordPress app too – but I’m too busy playing Bejeweled!

    How fun that you were able to incorporate two different group recipes into one – how rarely does that happen?

  3. These look so delicious. A big hit I’m sure. The view is outstanding…if I had a view like that after a hike, I might hike more often, but alas, no views like that within 100 miles of me. Thanks for letting me live vicariously!

  4. Great looking minis and what a great idea to take them on a hike with you and your friends! Iloved the topping and thought the muffins were good. I liked the minis better!

  5. I’m so glad I wound up making these because they were absolutely delicious! Thanks for your tips and for convincing me they’d be worth the effort :)

    Now, what’s this about a WordPress app for the iPhone?? I use Blogger but I wonder if there’s a similar app. That would be so cool!

  6. yum yum yum! Look great! I’m jealous of your phone app – so cool! i love that you made the cookies from scratch! I was too rushed :( It must have made these over the top delish!

  7. Those minis have the perfect ratio of crumble to muffin! I can see why they were such a big hit with the CWs. And much better when baking groups are symbiotic than when they’re competing.

  8. The only problem with these would be a futile attempt at reining in gluttony! I mean, they’d have been gone in a heartbeat if I had been there!

    I love Idylwild!

  9. Hey girl – these look good. Do you think I could substitute ginger snap cookies for the topping on the cranberry apple crisp this month? I’m allergic to oatmeal and am trying to find a substitute.

  10. Your muffins look perfect! I thought these were exceptionally good muffins, there’s a good reason they went so quickly! You’re making me want an iPhone, that sounds so convenient and time-efficient.

Leave a Reply

