Spiced Pumpkin, Lentil and Goat Cheese Salad

IMGP7093

Pumpkin Week continues…

I made this salad for lunch on Sunday to share with my mother and then took leftovers to work to share with Aaron. Aaron made out like a bandit this week with home-cooked meals. Lucky dog. The recipe comes from the October 2009 issue of Bon Appetit and once you peel and seed and cube the pumpkin (is there a trick to this?) it’s easy. The pumpkin is roasted with cumin and paprika while the lentils cook on the stove. Once both are done and cooled they are mixed with the goat cheese and other ingredients. It’s actually the perfect meal for the Indian Summer we’re having in Southern California–Fall flavors served chilled.

You can find the recipe HERE.

15 thoughts on “Spiced Pumpkin, Lentil and Goat Cheese Salad

  1. Beautiful.
    I knew this meal looked familiar- I remember the picture from BA. I really like how you are incorporating pumpkin into savory meals too. I rely on it too much for dessert.
    Yummy!

  2. That looks so good!
    I don’t have an easy solution to cutting pumpkin (or squash). But after the boys carved jack-o-lanterns, I took the “scraps” and cut the skin off of them and cooked them. It was pretty easy to cut the skins off the scraps. But I wish there WAS an easy way to cut it up first. ;)

  3. Wendy, I’m inking you in my blogroll if that’s ok..I don’t want to ‘lose’ you again! That said, perfect pumpkin timing! I have a small 4 lb pumpkin I bought for photos that I need to do something with outside of carving, and I’ve run into a pumpkin extravaganza here! That salad looks outrageously delicious and beautiful. Only problem is..I need someone to take a cleaver to it! LOL

  4. Like you, I’m crazy about pumpkin, and as far as I know, there is no trick to peeling and seeding squash. When I cut up a big batch of butternut squash, my hands develop blisters! This looks delicious, by the way. Pumpkin plus goat cheese?! Yum. And I linked to you again, since we both made the pumpkin curry! ;)

Leave a Reply

