Vegan Pumpkin and Sage Cheesy Pasta Bake

I get so excited when an experiment works. I’ve been wanting to make the Mac Daddy (mac & cheese recipe) recipe from Veganomicon for awhile, but never got around to it. This week is Pumpkin Week on Pink Stripes and I was trying to think of a vegan pumpkin recipe for Vegan Tuesday. I wanted to cook something savory because I’ve plenty of sweets hanging out in my freezer, counter, and workplace.

I came up with the idea to make Mac Daddy, but substitute 1/2 of the Cheesy Sauce with pumpkin puree.  I also added in chopped fresh sage and used pumpkin pie spice to flavor it. I used whole-wheat linguine because I didn’t have any macaroni in the pantry.  The result was amazing. The pasta was very creamy and it smelled and tasted how Fall should taste. And it’s not just me saying that.  I bring in lunch to work at least once a week and feed some of my work friends (it’s so I can cook and not have endless leftovers that go on and on and on). They couldn’t believe it was so creamy and vegan. I made half of the pasta recipe and the full recipe of the Cheesy Sauce, which is great for nachos or pizza.

Vegan Pumpkin and Sage Cheesy Pasta Bake

Adapted from Veganomicon
  • 3/4 cup Cheesy Sauce, see below
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 12 ounces whole-wheat linguine
  • 8 ounces extra-firm tofu
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh sage
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
  1. Cook pasta according to package directions in a large pot of boiling salted water. Pre-heat oven to 325° F.
  2. Meanwhile, combine Cheesy Sauce with pumpkin puree and spice.
  3. When pasta is ready, drain and set aside.
  4. In small baking dish, crumble tofu until it resembles ricotta cheese. Add sage, salt, oil, and lemon juice. Stir to combine. Stir in sauce and then add pasta, mixing well. Flatten down the top and place in oven, baking for 30 minutes until top is lightly browned and bubbly.

Serves 4.

Cheesy Sauce

Adapted from Veganomicon
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Several pinches freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon tumeric
  • 3/4 cup nutritional yeast flakes
  • 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon prepared yellow mustard
  1. Combine water and flour and whisk until flour is dissolved. A few lumps are okay.
  2. Heat oil in small saucepan over medium low heat. Add garlic and stir cooking for 2 minutes, making sure garlic doesn’t burn. Add spice, salt, and pepper and stir to combine. Add flour/water mixture, tumeric, and nutritional yeast. Increase heat to medium and whisk continuously for 3 minutes. The sauce will start to bubble and thicken. Remove from heat and add lemon juice and mustard. Taste for seasoning.

Makes approximately 3 cups.

22 thoughts on “Vegan Pumpkin and Sage Cheesy Pasta Bake

  1. Looks delish! Is there something I can substitute instead of using the nutritional yeast flakes? Or, how else can one use nutritional yeast flakes?

  2. I confess, I love a good steak (tenderloin filet-med rare). Can you tell I grew up a long time ago in a far away land? he he However, I could so eat some of your yummy vegan food. I know art imitates life and so some of the ways foods are imitated are quite fascinating. Amazing too. This sounds pretty good. I don’t know what yeast flakes are. Not sure I have seen those around. Have to search for those next time at our little whole foods mkt. Thanks for educating the feeble minded. he he AmyRuth

  3. Oooh pumpkin and pasta – what a terrific combination.

    I’ve got a craving for a pumpkin spice latte like you wouldn’t believe. All these pumpkin recipes floating around is going to be my undoing!

  4. If you are going to serve pumpkin like this, I am definitely standing in line with my plate as this looks delicious. Love that dish you cooked it in as well. Do I dare steal this recipe? I think so…yes, I think so.

  5. Oh wow, that’s amazing. In my vegetarian days I bought some nutritional yeast flakes but never got around to using them in a recipe – they must really work if your recipe tasted cheesy! And it looks and sounds delicious.

  6. This looks great!
    And for everyone wondering what yeast flakes are: They are nutritional yeast flakes & are sold in any health food store. High in B-vitamins, they have a “cheesy” kind of flavor. Personally, I like the powdered variety, but flakes are great too.

  7. This sounds so great and I hate to ruin it with such an un-fun question, but do you happen to know how many calories per serving this is?

  8. Hi – I don’t comment on many sites but had to on yours. It’s fantastic! I really like how you write – very to the point, unlike a lot of other blogs. Thanks for having this site. I found your site while looking for another one on about.com. I don’t have time to read all the articles here right now, but I have bookmarked this site and will visit again very soon to see your latest updates. I love reading about cooking, it is my favorite hobby. The recipes on your site are incredible. I can’t wait to try them out on my family. They think I’m crazy (and maybe they are right lol) when they see me at work in the kitchen. Please visit my recipe web site at http://www.KAChef.com. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

