{sms} sticky buns with toasted almonds

These buns are outrageously delicious. The sticky sauce is amazing. How can it not be? 2 sticks of butter, pure maple syrup, brown sugar, and cinnamon. What’s not amazing? My karaoke singing abilities. Yes, it was karaoke night on Friday. A group of friends went to a dive bar and we had a blast and stayed until closing time. I ‘sang’ two songs: Pink’s So What {which is the theme song for my life right now} and Wham’s Freedom {which I’ve always liked}. What’s amazing? I only drank water and still got up and ‘sang‘.

I got home a little after 2 am made the sticky sauce and rolled out the dough, which I left to rise before I left {based on the P&Qs I knew the first rise was taking ages, so I wasn’t worried about leaving the dough}. Instead of using cinnamon for the cinnamon-sugar filling I used Chinese 5-spice because I used all the cinnamon for the sticky sauce.

I got up at 7 am and placed them in the oven with a steam bath for their second rise. They baked beautifully (although they were done 10 minutes early) and I topped them with chopped toasted almonds. Next time I will skip the almonds. They didn’t do anything for me. I brought them for the volunteers (including me) staffing the HIV/AIDS education/testing booth at the Pride festival.

Thanks to Jen of Not Microwave Safe for hosting this week’s treat. It was the bomb! If you would like the recipe, visit her blog or buy the book.

34 thoughts on “{sms} sticky buns with toasted almonds

  1. oh but karoke is only good if they’re people who don’t sing as well! It’s always fun with friends. Just the hilarity of it all – it’s great!

    These look amazing!

  2. How in the **** did you make dough after getting home at 2 in the morning? I would have been incoherent at that time –

    Nevertheless, I’m sure those were a welcome treat for the other volunteers.

  3. The buns turned out beautiful and you started making them at 2 am? OMG! I wouldn’t be able to read clearly much less function well and I thought I was the night owl. Well, they turned out gorgeous!

  4. Those look insanely delicious. Perfect for next Sunday’s breakfast- we already ate too many pancakes this morning.
    Sober karaoke? Those 2 words don’t go together in my opinion. You are a brave soul.

  5. Haha, I did karaoke once, and I think that was enough for me :-) Thanks for baking this week, and the five-spice sounds awesome! And I’m really impressed with your functioning at 2 am- I wouldn’t trust myself to boil butter and sugar at that hour!

  6. I gave you credit for getting up and singing, especially sober! Even on my drunkest night, I don’t think I ever had the courage to do karaoke :) Your sticky buns turned out great – I’m sure they were a hit with the volunteers!

  7. The sticky sauce was incredible, I agree. I couldn’t stop eating it… Your sticky buns look amazing! I love karaoke, but haven’t done it in ages, what fun!

  8. Insane, totally insane. I can’t even express how good these sound. You’re making me want to buy this book, and like most of us, I don’t need another cookbook.

  9. Mmmmmm these look way too good. How many minutes on the treadmill would these be? But actually, it looks like they just might be worth it. . . great photos!

  10. You’re brave! I could never get up there with just water in me! LMAO These look incredible! I love almonds, but I would agree with you that this type of treat doesn’t need a crunchy top :)

  11. I love karaoke-sounds like a fun night and great song choices.
    Your sticky buns do look perfect. I bet the sticky sauce was amazing and good choice on the Chinese 5-spice in there.

  12. No, no, no I cannot make these…they would be on the Way Dangerous Zone list around here for me. I would be tempted to eat more than one. Way more than one. Best just to drool over your photos and description. Too funny about you singing and great choices of songs…now, if we only had video on that!

  13. What beautiful buns you have, Wendy! Fabulous job- they look SO delicious, and I think it’s hilarious you were in your kitchen baking them post-karaoke night at 2 in the morning… haha! I’m glad you had a fun time with friends, and then enjoyed a scrumptious sticky treat the next day- sounds like a perfect weekend to me!

    Hope to hear from you soon :)

    <3,
    Joy

Leave a Reply

