Dinner Party!

I hosted my first dinner party last week. It was small, just me and three guests. I worried about the menu because one of the guests is a picky eater. I only cook vegetarian and he doesn’t like/won’t eat vegetables. I also wanted to make something that would go with French Bread so I could get the next bread on my list from The Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge done–nixing pizza or cheese enchiladas (as suggested by picky eater).

The Menu:

Edamame

Rosemary Roasted Almonds (From September 2009 issue of Cooking Light)

Olives (From Whole Foods olive bar)

French Bread (From The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, made into 2 oz rolls)

Toasted Goat Cheese Ravioli with Red Pepper Dip (from September/October 2009 issue of Clean Eating magazine)

Creamy Rigatoni with Gruyère and Brie (from September 2009 issue of Cooking Light)

Slow-roasted Tomatoes with Sea Salt and Ground Coriander (from Orangette)

Dessert was the Chocolate Caramel Crunch Tart for next week’s Tuesdays with Dorie…more on that on Tuesday. As for wine, I threw myself on the mercy of the wine guy at the 3rd/Fairfax Whole Foods in Los Angeles. He asked me questions on my menu and walked me around the entire wine section. For a starter wine, he suggested the 2008 Marquis de Goulaine Rosé d’Anjou.  For dinner he suggested the 2007 Protos Verdejo, a Spanish white wine. The wine choices were excellent and reasonably priced. I’m definitely going back to him.

The dinner was a big success and loved every minute of it. I prepped most of the day, but was relaxed and carefree for the party. The guests enjoyed everything and we’re all looking forward to doing it again.

21 thoughts on “Dinner Party!

  1. Congratulations! It all sounds – and looks – wonderful…and I never noticed that pasta recipe in CL, so I’m going back to look for it. I’m also intrigued by the Rose d’Anjou. I’m hoping it has lovely pear notes, but probably not…

  2. This looks absolutely fabulous! The French Bread is next on my list, too, and I wanted to make something other than THREE baguettes, and now I’m going to make those little buns!

  3. I’m sure this is just the first of many fabulous dinner parties. Good job on pleasing the picky eater without resorting to pizza (delicious as that is) – he can make that when he has YOU over for dinner! Love that you used the china and crystal, everything is so pretty and delicious looking.

  4. Everything looks wonderful! What fun! I hosted my first dinner party when I was 9 years old with my cousin who was the same age, and I’ve loved them ever since. I wish I could throw them more often, though it’s difficult with the two little ones. At least I can live vicariously through you and enjoy your lovely dinner party!

Leave a Reply

