{sms} Toasted Oatmeal Maple Scones

This week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays recipe was Orange Scented Scones. I didn’t have an orange so I made a toasted oatmeal maple version. I added whole oatmeal I toasted in the oven and instead of sugar I used maple syrup. I topped each scone with a maple glaze (powdered sugar + maple syrup). I love baking scones and this flavor combination is my favorite. If I had pecans, I would have added those too. Apparently I really need to go grocery shopping.

Thank you to Robin of Lady Craddock’s Bakery for selecting this week’s recipe. If you would like the recipe, visit her blog or buy the book.

30 thoughts on “{sms} Toasted Oatmeal Maple Scones

  1. Oh, that looks really good. The maple glaze looks super yummy.

    I see that you’ll be in SF this next weekend? How nice. I’ll actually be in the city this next weekend too. It’s for a club event. We go to do the tourist things – Pier 39, clam chowder, and Ghiradelli Square.

  2. This sounds like the perfect breakfast scone! I love that you toasted the oatmeal and used maple syrup for the sugar and glaze! Ingenious! I’m certainly going to try these. Thanks for sharing your ideas.

  3. I need to go grocery shopping too – I just made a dish this weekend that needed walnuts, which we didn’t have around. Love the maple glaze on your scones, they sound delicious!

  4. Hi Wendy!
    I’m your Mom’s friend, Ginger. Your website is on my “favorites” and I check you frequently. I’m so happy that you’re doing all this cooking and I had no idea these cooking clubs existed. What an awesome experience for you!
    Love, Ginger

  5. Your maple scones sound very fall-ish. Autumn keeps teasing us, but when it finally arrives, I’ll have to try this variation. You should grab some oranges when you go to the store; the original version of the scone was super tasty.

  6. Thanks for baking along with me this week! Your maple glaze sounds so good and I love maple syrup. I made some maple scones and added pecans; the two flavors go so well together.

Leave a Reply

