{sms} Fallen Chocolate Soufflé Cake

Let’s celebrate! I finally completed all my requirements; I’m now a PADI-certified Open Water. I went on two beach dives this weekend, which are a bit harder than boat dives because you have to deal with waves and time your entrance and exit. Other than that, the dive conditions were perfec: Great visibility, the water was WARM, low surge, and lots of sea creatures. I held the largest lobster I’ve ever saw. I also octopi, sea slugs, more lobster, and lots of fishies.

This week’s Sweet Melissa SundayFallen Chocolate Soufflé Cake–recipe took a very literal turn for me. I dropped it. Hence, the broken edges you see. Luckily, it was salvgable and edible. I quartered the recipe and baked it in my mother’s mini-corning ware pan. As you can see, even in a wrong pan it rose beautifully.

My Dad has been talking about soufflés for awhile–why? I don’t know. It think he watched a cooking show–so I gave it to him topped with Dorie Greenspan’s Vanilla Ice Cream and fresh berries. He loved it. He thought it was very light and delicious.

Thank you to Sarah of Blue Ridge Baker for selecting a great recipe this week. For the recipe, visit her blog or buy the book.

Oh, and Sweet Melissa Sunday’s was mentioned in an article in this week’s Washington Post Food Section. You can find the article HERE.