Bouchons au Chocolat

Other than the bread I COULD NOT STOP TALKING ABOUT, I couldn’t stop thinking about the Bouchons au Chocolat {topped with Fresh Mint Ice Cream, Peanut Butter Ice Cream, and Chocolate Ice Cream} from the Bouchon Bistro in Las Vegas.

When I tasted the bouchons at the restaurant, I thought they were the world’s perfect brownie {although the book calls them brownie-like chocolate cakes. They’re brownies to me}. They had a nice crunchy and chewy crust and were oh-so gooey in the middle.The difference between the bread and the bouchons is that I could actually attempt and even possibly succeed in making them at home.

Professional Bouchons

Professional Bouchons

Oh, and I did. This will definitely be my go-to recipe for a quick and easy dessert for dinner parties. Especially since the recipe instructions state that you can make and refrigerate the batter a day-ahead. And I didn’t even use top-quality chocolate like suggested. I used Trader Joe’s  Dark Chocolate and Hershey’s Cocoa Powder. I wanted to make sure it worked first before busting out the good stuff.

Wendy Bouchon

Wendy Bouchon

While Williams-Sonoma sells a Bouchon pan especially for making these, I don’t have it.  I used my mini-springform pan instead and it worked out perfectly. I had to adjust the time a bit. They were done in 18 minutes or so.

You can find the recipe HERE.

31 thoughts on “Bouchons au Chocolat

  1. Okay, I came, I read, I looked at all the chocolatey photos first thing in the morning, so I get extra credit somewhere along the line today for something! I will say, that my chocolate loving guys would love these! What is everyone’s love affair with chocolate…I just don’t get it. LOL.

  2. Ok, I know I said that brownies are my least favorite dessert but since the book says these are brownie-like cakes, that might mean that they are more like my fave dessert-cake. They are so cute and elegant at the same time- they look delicious!

  3. Okay….. makes me think of creme anglaise from days gone by. :-) I love that you have made a loved treat from your trip. They look delicious and thanks so much for the recipe!
    AmyRuth

  4. While I’ve never been a fan of cake and ice cream together (weird, I know), I would have to make an exception for these. Must find a pan now . . . .

  5. I ate at Bouchon a few months back, and though I was dining by myself I ate the entire loaf of bread. Wow, was that unbelievably good. The whole meal was outstanding. I went with the creme caramel for dessert because I wanted to have it as a bench mark for when I make it from the cookbook. I just picked up a copy of the book from the library this evening and will have to try this recipe too. It looks so good!

Leave a Reply

