{sms} whole-wheat triple ginger fresh peach muffins

I was wide awake at 3 am on Thursday morning. I thought to myself, Why don’t I make this week’s Sweet Melissa Sunday recipe? Isn’t that what any self-respecting baker with deadlines thinks to themselves in the wee-hours of the morning? I quickly scanned the ingredients to see if they needed any room-temperature butter and since they didn’t I was good to go.

I think because of my recent bout of seasickness, I couldn’t stop thinking of Trader Joe’s Triple-Ginger Gingernaps Nancy of The Dogs Eat Crumbs mentioned in this post. I made the following changes/additions to the recipe: I used half whole-wheat pastry flour and 1/2 all-purpose flour; I grated 1/2 inch of peeled fresh ginger and rubbed it in with the sugar and orange zest; I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger; and finally added 2 tablespoons of chopped crystellized ginger.

There were a big hit both at home and at work. I like making muffins because they are easy and tasty. Thanks to JoVonn of The Givens Chronicles for selecting the Fresh Peach Muffins for this week’s recipe. For the recipe visit her blog or buy the book.

27 thoughts on “{sms} whole-wheat triple ginger fresh peach muffins

  1. I won’t wait until the next time I have insomnia at 3 a.m. to make these, that’s for sure. I love the ginger/peach combo – these look great!

  2. I thought the addition of the orange zest was the winning ingredient… but my goodness GINGER — i never would have thought it and glad someone did. They sound & look amazing! I’m going to have to give your version a try one day.

  3. Peach and ginger is a great combination, these look delicious! I don’t think I’ve ever been inspired to bake that early in the morning, it would help with the deadlines.

  4. Love your version! I really wanted to like these but the texture just didn’t work out for me. Great variations – I bet they were terrific with the ginger!

  5. While I struggle to fall asleep some days I never find myself up at 3am, thank goodness! :)

    I’ve got peaches and these sound yummy. Not sure why but I’m thinking white chocolate with it. Odd.
    ~ingrid

  6. Hello,

    your muffins look absolutely delicious and I would love to bake them, but I can’t find the recipe anywhere. It’s not available under the link you provided. Do you still have the recipe? I would very much appreciate your help!

    Many thanks and best wishes,

    Denise

Leave a Reply

