Honey-Wheat English Muffins

I’ve baked the English Muffins from The Bread Baker’s Apprentice before and they were delicious as written.  I made them again for The Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge, but this time decided to make a honey-wheat variety. I used 1/2 traditional whole-wheat flour and added 1 tablespoon of honey instead of the sugar. I made them 2 ounces each  and was able to yield 8 instead of 6 muffins. They turned out great–light and fluffy and pretty tasty.

Or at least I thought so, until I tasted THE BEST BREAD EVER. I went to Bouchon for dinner while in Las Vegas. I can only dream of baking bread this good. The crust was unbelievable, it was just the right crunch, just sweet enough, and the inside was light and fluffy. It all just melted in my mouth. I bonded with the person that refilled our water over the bread. I was giddy and excited and he told me the bread was his favorite too. I can’t wait for Bouchon to open in Beverly Hills. (By the way, the rest of the meal was amazing–but this is about the bread!)

THE BEST BREAD EVER

THE BEST BREAD EVER

19 thoughts on “Honey-Wheat English Muffins

  1. I would love to make english muffins, especially these healthy looking ones.
    It was so fun hearing about your trip through your tweets.
    Maybe I will get to try the best bread ever in my lifetime.

  2. What happened to you while you were in Vegas? You must have been having such a good time – you forgot about me!!

    Ah well, next time.

    PS – the bread looks fabulous.

  3. I loved what you did with changing up your muffins~ wheat does make it healthier! After I’m done with the BBA, I’m going to find PR’s book on whole grains…

Leave a Reply

