Avocado Ice Cream

You all know that ice cream is my thing and I enjoy trying new flavors and so far I have liked every flavor I’ve made {some more than others}, that is, until now: Avocado Ice Cream from David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop–>it tastes like frozen sweetened guacamole {with sour cream, which to me is a guacamole no-no} and I was so disappointed because I really really wanted to love avocado ice cream {and I love love love avocados; I buy 7 for $5 every week at the farmers’ market} but maybe I would like it more paired  with coconut ice cream, Vietnamese-style, as explained recently by Dorie Greenspan {nice, quick post today because of THIS}.

Avocado Ice Cream

Recipe from The Perfect Scoop

Makes: About 1 quart

3 medium ripe Hass avocados (about 1 1/2 pounds)
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
Big pinch salt

Slice the avocados in half and remove the pits. Use a spoon to scoop out the flesh, then cut it into chunks.

In a food processor or blender, combine the avocados, sugar, sour cream, heavy cream, lime juice and salt. Puree until smooth and the sugar is dissolved.

Freeze immediately in an ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.