{sms} Lemon Boysenberry Mini-Cheesecakes

I have many different sizes of springform pans. I have an 8-inch, a 9-inch, a 10-inch. I even have a 4-inch. However, I currently don’t have access to those pans and my Mother doesn’t have any at all.

This week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays group bake–the Lemon Blueberry Cheesecake with Cornmeal Crumble Crust–calls for a 9-inch springform pan. I wasn’t going to buy another 9-inch and wasn’t too sure of my baking abilities to use a non-springform pan, so I conveniently used my situation to buy a new pan I’ve had on my wishlist. O:) I bought a mini-cheesecake pan. Besides, we all know co-workers like individual servings.

I made a 1/2 a recipe for crust, filling, and berry topping. In retrospect, I should have only made a 1/3 or maybe even a 1/4 of the filling. After pouring the filling into the mini-cheesecake wells, I had a bunch left over.

No blueberries at the farmers’ market, so I used boysenberries. Boysenberries have a very short season–typically the month of July–so grab them if you see them. They are very sweet and juicy. Because boysenberries have large seeds, I strained the syrup to remove the seeds.

The crunch from the cornmeal in the crust provided a nice contrast to the creaminess of the cheesecake and the lemon juice and zest livened up the filling. These were very successful with the hordes here, so successful that it turns out I don’t have any to bring into work.

Thank you to Eliana of a Chica Bakes for picking this week’s selection. If you would like the recipe buy the book or visit Eliana’s blog.

41 thoughts on “{sms} Lemon Boysenberry Mini-Cheesecakes

  1. They look picture-perfect! That stinks that you don’t have your pans, but the mini cheesecake pan is great. I try to make do with what I have, but I’m going to break down and buy some type of mini pan soon.

  2. Mmm, those look delicious! I love anything in mini form, especially cheesecake!

    I’ll have to keep my eyes open this month for boysenberries. I’ve never even tried one!

  3. HOLY MOLY…these look amazing!! I have wanted one of those pans for ages and your pics may have turned that “want” in to a “need”…well done!

  4. Beautiful mini-cheesecakes. Love the color contrast of the syrup. I love that mini-cheesecake pan but haven’t been able to justify purchasing it yet. Your post might have changed that ;o)

  5. I caved and ordered that pan for myself last month and have used it twice. I LOVE it! My only issue is lifting out the mini cakes. Not the easiest.

    Yours look GREAT!
    ~ingrid

  6. I’ve never had a boysenberry either. I’m totally intrigued now though because your recipe looks wonderful.
    ~Michelle

  7. You don’t have to explain the thought process to buy a new pan. Notice I didn’t say “rationalization” because that makes it seem like you didn’t have a good enough reason. Those minis look insanely delicious!

  8. They look delicious! You’ve peeked my curiosity about boysenberries- I’ll have to keep my eye out for them.

  9. WOW! If it was as tasty as it was vibrantly colourful… man! it must have been sooooooo flavourful! Bravo your picture is totaly amazing!

  10. First gooseberries, not boysenberries! I am not going to be able to rest easy unless I can get my hands on some obscure (here anyway) berries. Lovely little cheesecakes; hope the CWs were duly excited. I’d be excited to have a pan like that! Oh, and a cheesecake on the side, please.

  11. Cheesecake is a dessert consisting primarily of a mixture based on soft, fresh cheese (not always cream cheese), eggs, and sugar; often on a crust or base made from hard biscuits (such as a graham cracker crust), pastry or sponge cake.[1] It may be baked or unbaked. Cheesecake is usually sweetened with sugar and may be flavored or topped with fruit, nuts, fruit sauce and/or chocolate. Various flavours of cheesecake exist, such as lemon, strawberry or toffee.:

    Kindly visit our web-site too
    <,http://www.caramoantourpackage.com/

Leave a Reply

