{twd}my tribute to dorie’s tribute to katharine hepburn brownies

Apparently, in addition to her film accomplishments, Katharine Hepburn was known for her brownies. I did not know this. After imdb-ing her, I’ve also realized that I’ve never watched one of her movies. The closest I’ve come to “watching” her in a movie is seeing Cate Blanchett play her in The Aviator. I really need to catch up on my classic movie watching.

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe, A Tribute to Katharine Hepburn Brownies, is Dorie Greenspan’s tribute to the famous brownies. My tribute to the brownies is ice cream. More specifically, Peanut Butter Ice Cream with a Caramel Swirl and Chocolate-Covered Cacao Nibs.

The brownies had just the right amount of gooey-factor and were fudgey with a hint of cinnamon. Loved them. Co-workers loved them.

See exhibit #1, email from co-worker (masked to protect the innocent):

From: ##### Monday – July 6, 2009 10:28 AM
To: Wendy
Subject: OMG

Browwwwnnnnnniiiiiieeeeessssss Yummy Yummy Yummy.

But the ice cream, yes the ice cream was an absolute dream. This is my new favorite flavor. I made Peanut Butter Ice Cream from The Perfect Scoop and swirled in Creamy Caramel Sauce also from the book and I also added in some chocolate-covered cacao nibs. You can find the recipe for the ice cream HERE. I need to figure out how to successfully bring ice cream to work. I was thinking about buying dry ice.

Thank you to Lisa of Surviving Oz for selecting this week’s recipe. She isn’t a member of Tuesdays with Dorie, but designed the new logo. Isn’t it cool? If you would the recipe, either buy Dorie Greenspan’s Baking… From My Home to Yours or visit Lisa’s blog.

61 thoughts on “{twd}my tribute to dorie’s tribute to katharine hepburn brownies

  1. My coworkers were also crazy about these brownies. I must admit that I haven’t seen any Katherine Hepburn movies either (or so I think)…

  2. Oh no, you’ve never seen a Katharine Hepburn movie?! I think I’ve seen them all at least a few times… Some favorites are: Bringing up Baby, Adam’s Rib and The African Queen. She’s amazing! Your brownies and ice cream look delicious. I really loved these brownies too.

  3. Wow yours look so nutty! And of course you would have ice cream to go with. I’m jealous. These are just not my favs when it comes to brownies.

  4. WOW, that ice cream looks and sounds amazing. I {heart} ice cream way too much, which is why I can’t keep it in the house. ;) I could see myself doing serious damage with this ice cream. PB, caramel AND chocolate? Oh Em Gee. *faints*

  5. Yours are nice and thick! And the ice cream! Great combination of flavors! Run home right now and watch The Philadelphia Story.

  6. I’m with Erin and Chris- please start with The Philadelphia Story and do it as soon as possible. Cary Grant, Jimmy Stewart AND KH at her absolute best. She’s just so quick and it doesn’t matter that the movie is over 60 years old, it’s hilarious. I’m excited FOR you!

  7. You always know how to send everything right over the top…the ice cream just did that, didn’t it??? Everything looks spectacular!

  8. This might sound a little crazy, but would you consider bringing your ice cream maker to work and just churning it there? You’d be a hero (that is, even more of a hero than you already clearly are!) Love your brownies, and the peanut butter ice cream is officially next on my ice cream list.

  9. Your brownies look great, but that ice cream!?!? It is definitely getting added to my rotation. Why haven’t I ever thought to mix peanut butter and caramel? Thank you!

  10. Yep, definitely like the nutty ones best. Yours look delicious! And the peanut butter ice cream. Great minds think alike. We made the same kind. That pb ice cream is divine. I’d better be careful talking about it, there’s still some left in the freezer! ;)

  11. Perfect! I want one of your brownies and a scoop of that ice cream. Yummy! I’m sure your co-workers will love you more if brought them ice cream.

  12. That ice cream looks amazing!!!
    Didn’t you think that character in The Aviator was positively annoying?!! If that’s how she was in real life, not even these brownies could redeem her. :)

  13. I found your blog looking for ice cream recipes, and I am hooked! I have to visit all the time now to see what you’re up to baking! Very inspiring!

  14. That may very well be the most perfect scoop of ice cream in the world. Just sayin’. The brownies look wonderful too and I’ll just bet they were amazing together!

  15. I’ll buy your dry ice if you’ll send me some of your ice cream. It sounds so delicious and the nibs aren’t enough you’ve added caramel? MMMmmmm. The brownies, yep, they look perfecto!!! Can I work with you too? he he
    AmyRuth
    I’d gain a zillion pounds

  16. Are you trying to kill me with that ice cream???

    MMMmmmm… what a perfect brownie!

    Pfff… you don’t even need that ice cream on such a beaut of a brownie, c’mon… gimme it… gimme the ice cream, I say…

  17. I’ve seen a ton of these brownies on many a blog for TWD, and even tried a coworker’s version last year when it was written up in the NY Times. Your take is one of the best looking, and no doubt best tasting, especially with David Lebovitz’s peanut butter caramel swirl plopped right next to one! OMG, decadent – beautifully done!

  18. You and a couple of other bakers are totally making me feel like such a slacker! I’ve had the Perfect Scoop for more than a month, and I’ve barely even looked at it! Everything looks amazing!

  19. I realized I have never seen a Katharine Hepburn movie either. And I loved these with ice cream too. Your pictures are so beautiful. I love the first one especially!

  20. Oh, you have to watch at least one of her movies! promise? I feel this is more important than brownies, but then again, yours do look fabulous! :)

  21. I’ve never watched a Katharine Hepburn movie either but I was afraid to admit it on my blog :) I also need to catch up on my classic movie watching. Your brownies look awesome and that ice cream sounds soooo good! I’ve made the peanut butter ice cream from DL but you took it to a whole new level!

Leave a Reply

