{twd} Perfect Party Cake

It was a triple-header: Father’s Day, My Dad’s Birthday, and the First Day of Summer. No excuse was needed to bake Dorie Greenspan’s Perfect Party Cake for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie.

Because of this grand day, I had helpers bake with me. More specically, my 6- year-old niece Paula and my 4-year-old nephew Diego. Although, Diego has made an appearence here before, we actually baked this cake before the casatiello.

The kids “helped” me dump the ingredients, separate the eggs, and mix everything together. We made the full recipe, but used my 7×3-inch cake pans instead of the 9-inch pans recommended. Other then adjusting the baking time and temperature (decreased the temp and increased the time), we followed the recipe as written.

The cake was a big success. It was light, moist, and the crumb was -dare I say-perfect. It truly is a Perfect Party Cake. In fact, I almost didn’t get a chance to take a picture of a slice because it almost disappeared before I remembered.

Thank you to Paula and Diego–who actually remembered there was lemon zest in the cake–for baking the cake with me.

And thank you to Carol of mix, mix… stir, stir who made the perfect choice this week. If you would like the recipe, please visit her blog or buy Dorie Greenspan’s book: Baking…From My Home to Yours.

I told them to smile and look at the camera; this is what happened.

I told them to smile and look at the camera; this is what happened.

56 thoughts on “{twd} Perfect Party Cake

  1. This is one gorgeous cake and what lovely photos of your kids – they are cutie pies! I have baked this cake before and it really is delicious :D

  2. the picture of your whole cake remind me of this hostess sno-balls. Except that I am sure your cake was a billion times tastier. Your little helpers are cute, though they look like they can be little devils too!

  3. Love your cake, darling! Perfect for Father’s Day, Summer Day, and your Dad’s bday!

    Must have been busy over there! Cute kids.

    FAB JOB again!

  4. I don’t know which is cuter, the kids or the cake with those festive little candles on it! Okay, it’s the kids, but the cake is really really nice, too! I love the touch of the candles, they really make it look like a party cake. Kudos to Paula and Diego for being such great helpers…the cake was undoubtedly better for their efforts!

  5. Gorgeous cake. And you little helpers are adorable. Always nice to have some help in the kitchen especially when they are that cute.

  6. Your cake looks wonderful. The layers are done so nicely, it looks like you get a perfect combination of cake, frosting and jam in every bite.

  7. Great beginning to baking with children! Y’all turned out some quality baked goods that weekend. I love how you used the 7″ pans – so tall and gorgeous. Too bad it’s all gone cause I’d love a taste to refresh my recollection…

  8. Such beautiful cake, for such cute children! Makes sense! LOL

    Sorry I haven’t been here for a while, I’ve been out of this world busy this last week! I’ve got so catching up to do… and there I go…

  9. I have to bake it now after seeing yours! Great looking cake! Im glad you all enjoyed it too. It’s so nice to bake something that is put to good use.

  10. Yeah, I don’t know which is harder – photographing food or photographing kids. Paula and Diego couldn’t be any cuter even if they were smiling and looking at the camera! What great little helpers, and what a festive cake! Glad it was a hit!

  11. I made this back in May for my birthday. :) If you hadn’t picked it, I would have! DELISH! Thanks for hosting this week, I love how yours came out, so pretty!

  12. It looks just perfect! Someday, Diego is going to have his own blog and he’s going to tell everyone that he taught you how to bake.

  13. Your cake looks enchanting. I love how your captured the magical moment with your niece holding it. The tiara on her shirt looks like it is topping the cake. Great shot! Way to go, Deigo and Paula!

  14. I love baking with kiddos — they’re so much fun. Paula and Diego look like they were wonderful helpers, too. The cake looks so moist and delicious, and I bet it was truly a “perfect party cake” for your celebrations! I’m glad that everyone enjoyed it.

  15. Looks GREAT! Where’s the ice cream? When I headed over here I thought for sure you’d have ice cream.

    Your niece and nephew are too cute! That last photo is a good one.
    ~ingrid

  16. I’m glad the cake was such a big hit! It looks delicious and I love the candles on top – so festive. Diego and Paula are just adorable too.

  17. Kids, they do the darndest things. he he Priceless photo and they are so very cute. What a great memory for you both. he he Love the sorbet yummy photo too. oops this is about the PPC right? Great job and I agree it was perfect.
    AmyRuth

  18. You have such cute helpers! =)
    Your Perfect Party Cake looks so grand! It’s soo tall! The sliced cake looks so yummy!

  19. Looks perfect…picture perfect party cake! I love that last pic of the kids. Typical of little ones!! I also like the one of them in their aprons. Great job.

  20. Cute kids! My niece is 7 and refuses to have her picture taken now, silly children. Lovely cake! Ours went pretty quickly too, always a side affect of delicious TWD recipes, they go so quick sometimes its hard to snap a picture.

Leave a Reply

