mini-challah rolls

I baked The Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challah for the first time last September. You can see my previous attempt HERE. For a twist on the traditional braid, I decided to make mini-challah rolls.

I made 3 ounce rolls, with each strand weighing 1 ounce. I also added 1/2 cup of diced dried pears and dried cherries to the dough the last two minutes of kneading.

Making half a recipe, I yielded six rolls. Perfect.

I made these as part of The Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challange, a group dedicated to baking our way through Peter Reinhart’s book.

26 thoughts on “mini-challah rolls

  1. Your mini-challah rolls are the cutest things! I love their shape. I’m such a slacker with my (borrowed from the library) copy of BBA. I’ve been talking about making bagels for weeks now…

  2. Great idea to do mini braided rolls! I was planning on making the BBA challah into rolls for the 4th of July, but I hadn’t thought to braid them as such.

  3. Your mini-challah rolls look perfect and what a great idea! *Blush* as yet I haven’t made challah bread it is on my list of bakes and if it turns out half as good as yours I’ll be happy!

  4. This probably isn’t the word you’re looking for, but they are so CUTE! I must conquer my fear of yeast (in fact, I think TWD will make me do that later next month!)

  5. What a great challah presentation, Wendy, and I admire your dedication for baking it a second time! I’m trying to decide between copying your mini challahs or your mini casatiellos for my contribution to a dinner party this weekend.

  6. You and I are on the same page. I’m making the challah this week, and I’m halving the recipe. I was wondering if I could turn this into rolls, and thanks to you, I know it will make 6! They are lovely.

  7. Oh, wow, I can’t believe I missed this entry. Your challah rolls came out gorgeous and perfect. I just made a few interesting challah’s, but not from BBA..just because I han’t made it in a while. Next time I would love to make them into rolls like yours!

Leave a Reply

