‘quick’ puff pastry and palmiers

palmiers8

If this was the quick method for puff pastry, I’m not sure I want to ever attempt the authentic method of making it. Actually, it was fairly quick. I just had to have a lot of faith while rolling it. The recipe for Quick Puff Pastry comes from Cindy Mushet’s The Art and Soul of Baking.

puffpastry

I have now learned that puff pastry is butter with a little bit of flour. Similar to croissant dough, but without yeast, puff pastry requires three turns–rolling, folding, and refrigerating. The ‘dough’–Cindy even uses dough with quotes–is shaggy and doesn’t form a smooth mass until the final roll. She says to trust her. And trust her I did. You can find the recipe for Quick Puff Pastry HERE. I’ll warn you before you look; it uses 4 1/2 sticks of butter.

puffpastryroll

Palmiers, or elephant ears, are crisp cookies made with puff pastry rolled in sugar.  They are simple to make once you have puff pastry.  You roll out the dough in lots of sugar and then you roll the ends up into each other. Refrigerate it for a bit, then slice, roll in more sugar, and bake.  The secret of getting nice and crispy palmiers is to allow enough time for the sugar to start caramelizing before flipping the cookies over. You want a nice golden color around the edges which is a sign that the sugar is doing its thing.

palmiers

Because of the way they are cut and baked, palmiers puff out not up. I was so excited when I saw that my puff pastry was actually puffing. I did a happy dance in the kitchen. Then tweeted about it.

I made plain palmiers, but you could use vanilla sugar or add some spices to the sugar.They’re great on their own, but even better with ice cream. They supposedly keep up to two weeks. I wouldn’t know anything about that; they didn’t last that long!

palmiers10

Palmiers

Adapted from The Art & Soul of Baking
  1. Generously sprinkle sugar over work surface. Place puff pastry in center and sprinkle top with more sugar completely covering it. Roll dough out to a 16 by 10- inch rectangle, sprinkling top and bottom as needed to prevent sticking.
  2. Starting at each short end, fold over the first two inches. Repeat, folding the dough over the next two inches. When the two sides meet in the middle, fold one over the other.  When you are done, the ends should look like a heart. Wrap roll in plastic and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
  3. Place rack in middle and preheat oven to 350 F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or Silpat. Pour some sugar in a small bowl. Take roll out of refrigerator and cut 12 1/4-inch thick slices, dip both sides in sugar, and place 2-inches apart on baking sheet. Rewrap roll and return to refrigerator. Bake the cookies for 7 to 10 minutes or until golden at the edges. Flip cookies over and bake for 9 to 12 minutes longer, until they are a deep golden brown. Transfer to rack and cool completely.  Repeat with remaining dough. You could also freeze it for baking on another day.
36 thoughts on “‘quick’ puff pastry and palmiers

  1. These look delish! When I find out how much butter is in some of my favourite things, I am kinda shocked as well, but then blithely ignore it and proceed anyway. Although some of the TWD recipes lately are really upping the ante …

  2. Oh Wendy, you’re such an inspiration. If I wasn’t up to my chin in cake this weekend, I would love to try that. And I was just flipping through my book thinking of all the things I would like to bake this summer!

  3. Beautiful job! I’m not quite ready to attempt puff pastry at home yet. I think I’ll wait a few weeks until we do it in class. For now, I love making palmiers with TJ’s frozen dough.

  4. Those look really fantastic! Nice job. But 4 1/2 sticks of butter? Woah. I find it easier to deny how unhealthy puff pastry is when I don’t make it myself and see all of that butter going in.

  5. Cool! I always wanted to make puff pastry… and always thought the process to be soooo long and complicated, I never did.

    If you say it’s quick and from what I see pretty easy… I’m all for it and will try!

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. I love this post! I have a tip from Southern Living for puff pastry. You just unfold it. Cut four strips lengthwise. Then, use these strips to create a border around the puff pastry. Finally, bake the puff pastry. When it is done, you will have a cool pastry tray to set and serve your cheese on! Cool, huh? I will try it and post it. I definitely want to try making my own now.

  7. I’m impressed! Making your own puff pastry is a good thing!!!!!! Yes, lots of butter… but isn’t it worth it?!!?!? Palmiers are so delicious, and painfully uncommon in Canada! When I’m in France, I pretty much ahve one a day… and then I regret it upon my return!

    • Hey Marta,

      I live in Canada too and you can actually find palmiers really common over here! I’m not sure exactly where you live, but I live in Toronto, and I can always find palmiers in any Chinese Bakery….they might be labelled as “Butterfly Cookies” though….Hoped this helped with your search for palmiers! Cheers!

      P.S. – The palmiers in the picture look so yummy!! This is a time when Willy Wonka’s inventions would have translated beautifully into real life!!

  8. Yum! I made puff pastry in a class and have been wanting to make it on my own. It’s one of those things that I think is worth the butter!

  9. Your palmiers looks beautiful and very tasty. I’ve never made puff pastry dough, but I’m thinking I need to try as I can’t seem to find it here made with butter(just shortening stuff, which when you make palmiers with it leaves an awful texture in your mouth).

  10. WHOA, that is a lot of butter :) Oh well, it seems to have been worth it. Your palmiers look fantastic. And what bragging rights you have! You get to say that you made your own puff pastry. Now, that’s just downright impressive. Sorry I’ve been away for the past week; I had a good friend in town and wasn’t able to do much on the computer. I’m back now, though :)

  11. Another thing for my must-make list–puff pastry. I haven’t had time to read much of The Art and Soul of Baking yet, but I’m looking forward to it. Your palmiers look fantastic!

  12. Even Ina Garten uses Pepperidge Farm frozen puff pastry! I’m not worthy, I’m not worthy . . . This looks incredible. I’m in constant awe of the things that you attempt, and master on the first try. This looks incredible!

  13. These palmiers look so delicious!! Fresh palmiers made with real butter puff pastry blow me away. I can understand why they didn’t last two weeks!

  14. Fantastic post! This could aid lots of people find out about this matter. Do you want to incorporate video clips together with these? It could undoubtedly help out. Your reason was spot on and owing to you; I probably won’t have to describe everything to my pals. I can simply direct them here

Leave a Reply

