{db} strudel

strudel3

The May Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Linda of make life sweeter! and Courtney of Coco Cooks. They chose Apple Strudel from the recipe book Kaffeehaus: Exquisite Desserts from the Classic Cafés of Vienna, Budapest and Prague by Rick Rodgers.

strudel2

I had decided not to make this month’s challenge. I had too many things going on both in the baking/blogging world and the real world.  So, of course, shortly after I publicly announce I’m not going to participate this month I go ahead and make it.

strudel4

The strudel was easier than I thought it would be. The instructions were a little intimidating. All the stretching and pulling and holes. I made a 1/4 of the recipe and instead of the traditional apple filling I used fresh blueberries and cherries.

strudel

The end result? It looks horrible. My strudel reminds me of Necron Slime. I don’t know what Necron Slime is exactly–just something from a cartoon I vaguely remember from childhood.  I now think my strudel looks like a psychedelic sea cucumber. I think it fits my baked strudel.

strudel5

Update: I also realize I over-stuffed it, which is a problem with me and burritos. Now that I know how to do it right. I’m definitely making again.

29 thoughts on “{db} strudel

  1. C’est comme les jeux olympiques, Pinkstripes, l’important, c’est de participer ! lol ! ton strudel est peut être éventré, mais il devait être néanmoins très bon aux vues des saveurs que tu y as mises :)

  2. …and by the time we scroll down to look at the Necron slime, we’re also able to see those brownies and that gelato. So it’s all good!

  3. Glad to see that I’m not the only one who waited until the last minute. =) Hopefully it tasted good even if it wasn’t pretty.

  4. Well, at least you TRIED! The stretched dough looks perfect. Now, your mistake was only that you were supposed to make a small line of filling, then roll all that extra dough up around it. That would have solved the escaping Necron slime! But I imagine it tasted great anyway!

  5. Bursting with goodness perhaps? I know what you mean, but seriously, on the upside – check out how freakin’ thin you got your strudel to roll – that is just awesome!

  6. Regardless of the explosion, I think that it’s super impressive that you made the strudel. That thin rolling of the dough has always, always intimidated me! I think that you’re filling sounds awesome and I’m right there with you on the overstuffing element. If a little is good, then more must be better, right?

  7. Ha ha necron slime – I like that. I had no idea what you were talking about in Twitter, but now I can see what you mean. Even if it didn’t turn out the way you wanted it to, you were a true Daring Baker and tried anyways.

  8. LOL – you are very hard on it. I think it had to taste good with all of those gorgeous cherries and blueberries. And I am very impressed with how thin you managed to get the dough – and how neat it looks!

  9. I still have to get my post up. I made my first strudel last year, and it wasn’t too pretty. It looked like a stump. An ugly tree stump. But it sure tasted good!

Leave a Reply

