{bba} Greek Celebration Bread: Christopsomos

greekbread4

Traditionally, Christopsomos is made for Christmas and literally translates from Greek as “Christ Bread“. Greek Celebration Bread and its variations was the next formula for me to bake as part of The Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge.

I made the poolish version and the dough came together and rose beautifully. It had a lot of ingredients! The most of any yeasted bread I’ve made. In addition to the usual (flour, salt, yeast, water) it included: cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, cloves, orange extract, almond extract, eggs, honey, olive oil, whole milk, golden raisins, dried figs, and walnuts. This also marks the first time I added vital wheat gluten into my bread.

christopsomas

Because of all the spices and extracts the dough smelled wonderful. It almost made me want to eat it raw.

greekbread3

Uninspired to make a fancy design, the photo in the book shows a Christosomos shaped almost like an octopus, I made it in a loaf pan using the monkeybread method. I made 1.5 ounce balls. In retrospect, I probably should have made them smaller– one or 3/4 ounce.

When the bread came out of the oven I brushed it with the optional glaze (water, sugar, honey, orange extract) and sprinkled it with sesame seeds.

Greek celebration bread is too delicious. It is so delicious that I couldn’t stop myself from breaking off pieces (negative aspect of monekybread) and eating them while taking pictures of my loaf. YUM!

Whole Bread

Whole Bread

One piece "missing"

One piece "missing"

Multiple pieces "missing"

Multiple pieces "missing"

I’ve always loved Greek food and now I know I love Greek Celebration Bread. I will definitely make Greek Celebration Bread again. I know my Mom would love this. You can find the formula for Greek Celebration Bread and its variation in The Bread Baker’s Apprentice.

Thank you to Nicole of Pinch My Salt for organizing The Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge. You can find us on Twitter #bba or on Facebook BBA Challenge.

I’m submitting this to Yeastspotting, a weekly round-up of yeasted goods and bread.

36 thoughts on “{bba} Greek Celebration Bread: Christopsomos

  1. I absolutely love how yours turned out! Next time I make this one I will definitely do this method too. The huge boule was pretty overwhelming but so good!

  2. I love how you did this…I am writing this version in my book in ink so that I can remember this idea. It looks so yummy, especially when you have that first little bite taken out and I can see the inside…what lovely texture. Very nice, very nice indeed. I’d buy it at the market in a split second!

  3. There is a Greek woman that works at my company that brings these sort of breads in all the time for us. They are delicious. You did a great job with this one.

  4. I’m so glad that you posted this! I’m getting ready to make it sometime this week and I’ve had a fair amount of mental anguish over how I should form the bread. I love the idea of the monkey bread option. It’s beautiful and I’m really glad that you enjoyed it.

  5. Beautiful! I wasn’t able to get in on the BBA group, but I’m going to try to bake more from it – not sure in what order though. This one might be next…you’re inspiring me!

  6. Love the monkey bread method! It really does look tailor made for eating while photographing. I think I need to read up on vital wheat gluten now. So glad that you enjoyed this!

  7. The bread looks amazing!! I love the colour of the crust and shape of it. It looks so soft inside and must have been so much fun to just peel the pieces off.

  8. Gorgeous!! I hadn’t heard of the anadama bread and I haven’t heard of this one either, but they both look so good. I love that you used the monkeybread method :)

  9. This is a gorgeous bread! Have you ever tried baking from Beranbaum’s The Bread Bible? I tried making focaccia yesterday, which was delicious, but it stuck to my pan. I’m still trying to figure out why. I’ll have to check out Bread Baker’s Apprentice.

  10. I love the “several pieces missing” shot – that’s the trouble with those kinds of breads – it’s so easy to steal a piece!

    It looks super delicious!

  11. Wow, not only is this bread visually appealling, I can only imagine how wonderful it tastes. This seems like the type of bread that makes the whole house smell delicious as it bakes. Great job! Can’t wait to see all the other breads you bake up!

  12. It’s so much fun to see your bread (again) after being part of the play-by-play. Gorgeous. And I do think it’s important for us to know what the texture and crumb look like…so consider that you’re doing us all a service by removing some of the yummy glazed surface to show the inside!

  13. Your beautiful bread, and your enthusiasm for it, are inspiring me. I might just make the rest of my Artos after all, and the monkey bread method might be just the ticket. Beautiful work, Wendy!

  14. LOL LOL I was fooled! You got me! …and to say that I thought your last bread looked amazing… woah… I’m floored! Did I say guru? I meant… goddess!!! LOL

  15. man! everyones making greek bread lately! I feel like such a failure as a greek for not making it yet lol. yours turned out lovely, I can almost smell it baking from here!

  16. Just finished baking mine last night. I made a boule. I love the way you made yours. Great bread. I’m not too crazy about the taste of the bread, I’ve never eaten bread with that much spices in it before. I’m getting used to the taste.

    What’s your twitter name?

  17. I love the way you put this together. I love monkey bread. =) I went with one large braid for mine–it was huge! The smell is definitely a good one–and it smells even better coming out of the toaster.

  18. Simply amazing! What an awesome idea! I went with the braid (the octopus kinda intimidate me LOL) It was huge & delicious & we also enjoyed tearing little pieces off! I can’t wait to make this one again & I’ll be sure to try it monkey bread style!

  19. What a gorgeous loaf! Using the monkey bread approach was absolutely brilliant. I shall have to try this soon. (Sorry I’m behind on your posts.)

  20. This is a great idea for shaping this bread, better than the original one! I’ll try to remember this for the next time I’m baking the Christopsomos.

Leave a Reply

