Maple-Nut Granola with Dried Strawberries and Blueberries

Please excuse this post interruption for an important message:

Cherries are here! Cherries are here!

I’m so excited! First I found fresh corn at the store this week and now, I found cherries at the farmers’ market. Summer is coming. Yay! I love summer, can you tell?

cherries

Now, back to the regularly scheduled post.

granola

Dried strawberries! Have you tried them? They’re wonderful. I’ve recently discovered them. They are now my new favorite dried fruit. I used them, along with dried blueberries, in this week’s granola recipe which comes from Eating Well magazine. This particular recipe is from their November/December 2008 issue (yes, I’m still going through my piles of magazine recipes) and is meant to be a homemade gift. But I’m keeping it all to myself, it’s so good.

You can find the recipe HERE. The only changes I made was to use the dried strawberries and blueberries instead of  dried cranberries and raisins.

18 thoughts on “Maple-Nut Granola with Dried Strawberries and Blueberries

  1. Ahh yes summer will be here soon. Our local Farmers Market opened last Sat. in the rain, but haey it’s open! I can not wait to buy some fresh produce. Your granola looks great!

  2. dried strwberries are mouthfulls of heaven! They’re so hard to find, though, and SO pricey! But I think they’re worth it. along with dried blueberries, they are some of the best dried fruit. Mind you, I love all dried fruit.
    Thanks for this great post :)

  3. Can’t blame you for keeping that granola; it looks fantastic. I’m going to try this recipe the next time I make granola (about monthly). My dried fruit obsession is… cherries. And fresh cherries = heaven.

  4. You are such a lucky bum…our farmers market hasn’t even opened yet. Do you dry your own fruit? I was thinking about getting a cheap dehydrator, but I’m trying to figure out which kind!

  5. I haven’t tried dried strawberries before, I’ll have to pick some up next time I am at the bulk store.
    I love cherries too, I am not sure when they show up here.

  6. Those cherries look fantastic! Coincidentally, I just bought dried strawberries for the first time on Saturday. Maybe this is how I’ll use them up (if I can stop eating them on their own).

Leave a Reply

