Flaxseed Waffles with Berries and Honey Cream

flaxseed waffles

I love breakfast. It’s my favorite meal of the day. I love breakfast for dinner too. I guess I like breakfast for lunch, but usually that is just called a late breakfast or sometimes brunch. I recently made Flaxseed Waffles with Berries and Honey Cream. I found this recipe in my piles of ripped out pages from food magazines. It comes from the January 2009 (fairly recent, so it was near the top of the pile :P ) issue of Bon Appetit.

In addition to the flaxseeds, the waffles are made with a combination of whole-wheat and all-purpose flour. You drizzle the waffles with maple syrup, add some mixed berries, and top with a delicious honey whipped cream. Each individual component is wonderful, but in combination it’s spectacular.

You can find the recipe HERE.

25 thoughts on “Flaxseed Waffles with Berries and Honey Cream

  1. suis comme toi, j’ADORE les petits déjeuners, surtout, s’ils sont composés de gaufres, crêpes..et tout plein de sirop !
    une recette que je vais m’empresser d’essayer, et mon fils va sûrement apprécié:)

  2. The look incredible, I love that they have that hit of healthy in them – means I can have more!
    ps, while I was here you popped up on my inbox – that has happened before with you and me – must be on the same wavelength!

  3. It is SO BAD how many articles I have saved from food magazines. I have just started compiling them all into Tastebooks (www.Tastebook.com) and I have so many more to go… I have 4 years worth of mags!

    The waffles sound so healthy and delicious and as usual, your photography is stunning! How do you get your photos so well lit?

  4. Woah! If I sleep on the curb tonight… can I ring your bell for THAT kinda breakfast tomorrow morning?
    I love when healthy is not a comprise to luscious!

  5. I’d almost rather have breakfast for dinner than for breakfast, if that makes any sense? Most mornings I’m more than happy with my oatmeal + almond butter + dried fruit, but on weekends I love to switch it up. And dinners when hubs is away (he is not a fan of breakfast for dinner at all. But I know I’d love this waffle any time, any day. Love flax, love berries (love whipped stuff…)

  6. these look delicious, no doubt. but i’ve always read that flaxseeds must be ground to be beneficial to us as food – otherwise they mostly just don’t get digested. i’ve been wondering why recently everything i buy that contains flax has whole flaxseeds. either the advice to grind them is incorrect, or people just know that the word “flax” on something will make it more appealing to health-conscious consumers. i will have to look into this.

  7. Oooh, how convenient, I have everything to make those tomorrow morning. The kids will never know I’ve switched their favorite waffles………

  8. Waffles seem like a great vehicle for the flax seeds. I don’t have a waffle maker but I wonder if I could tweak the recipe to make pancakes? They look delicious — especially the berries on top.

Leave a Reply

