Tagine Time

Carrot and Chickpea Tagine

My local health  food store has a free magazine/circular–Delicious Living. For some reason, I’ve never picked it up. Well, I picked it up last week and I was pleasantly surprised to find lots of yummy sounding recipes. {It really shouldn’t be surprising b/c it is called “Delicious Living” :P }.

One of the recipes was for a Carrot & Chickpea Tagine, a morroccon stew. I’ve never made a tagine and had all the ingredients, so I decided to make it for Vegan Tuesday. The tagine was warm and spicy and in addition to the carrots and chickpeas, it had onions, prunes, and green olives. I paired it with whole-wheat couscous.

You can find the recipe HERE.

I also made the Maple Walnut Cookies from Vegan with a Vengeance. Although these were quite tasty (you can’t go wrong with maple/walnut). They had major spreading issues. These turned out to be the ugliest things I’ve ever seen. They started as cute little tablespoon balls and grew into flat 5 inch discs. I’m going to try to see how I can fix this. They are very delicious and I want them to succeed. So no picture or recipe until I figure it out.

Update: I posted a question about these cookies spreading on the Post Punk Kitchen forums and Isa Chandra Moskowitz, the author of Vegan with a Vegeance, responded and told me to try adding 2 tablespoons of flour.

13 thoughts on “Tagine Time

  1. Looks great, wish I would have bought more carrots at the farmers market. I made Red Lentil Cauliflower Curry and Roti last night. Curry was delicious but the no-so-puffy roti need some work. Have you ever made them?

  2. My hubby and I are going on a well-balanced diet soon. I told him that your site has a lot of good stuff for us! Wish us luck. Also, Congrats our your cookbook win. Let us know how the recipes are.

Leave a Reply

