{db} “cheese”cake

It’s time for a Daring Bakers challenge again!

The April 2009 challenge is hosted by Jenny from Jenny Bakes. She has chosen Abbey’s Infamous Cheesecake as the challenge.

Raw Vegan Cheesecake

When I first read the challenge, I knew I wanted to make a vegan cheesecake. I’ve been dabbling in vegan baking and cooking and I’ve made traditional cheesecakes in the past. I decided to challenge myself by baking a vegan cheesecake. I read the Alternative Baker’s Forum at The Daring Kitchen and researched different recipes. I then found one for a RAW vegan cheesecake at Vegetarian Times. I’ve never made a raw dessert either, well, except fruit.

So, I made a Raw Cashew Cheesecake. The recipe uses raw macadamia nuts and dates for the crust and raw cashews, raw agave nectar, coconut oil, & lime juice for the filling. The result was a suprisingly light-tasting and refreshing dessert.

However, because of all the nuts and coconut oil it is not a low-calorie or low-fat dessert. One slice, like the one pictured, has 360 calories and 30 grams of fat.

You can find the recipe for it HERE.

Raw Vegan Cheesecake

32 thoughts on “{db} “cheese”cake

  1. LOL – amazing how all the healthy stuff can be just as fattening. A great looking cheesecake, esoecially with the fruit on top, and I am a fan of cashews – bet this tasted superb.

  2. AH! Simple, to the point with a great flavor combination, fresh springtime fruits… how could anything be bad? LOL

    You amaze me Pink. You have a way of making regular classics, step out of the box…

  3. Wow!!!! I think the raw aspect is amazing… and you are right… although I was super excited to find an AMAZING vegan cheesecake recipe… it is loaded with calories and fat. Will there ever be a HEALTHY cheesecake alternative? Low sugar, low cal? Is it too much to ask?

    I’d spare a few calories for a bite of yours, though :)

  4. I haven’t making a raw dessert before but you’ve inspired me. I just got Veganomicon from the library. What’s your favorite recipe from it?

  5. I’m not a big cheesecake person (thank goodness there’s ONE dessert I manage not to eat very often) but I’ve been having fun seeing all these creative (and I must admit, delicious-looking) efforts!

  6. Love the way you took this challenge and made it your own. I’m loving the raw aspect. Your cake does look fluffy and wonderful, and with the fruit it’s bound to be a wonderful cool summer treat. Too bad about the calories, but good dessert generally goes that way, right?
    Nancy

  7. Raw cheesecake, how cool! I’m always impressed when one can actually make a DB challenge raw… And it sounds so delicious, too. Plus, compared to the traditional version, those nutritional stats really aren’t half bad!

  8. This is so gorgeous! And I love the idea of it…I’ve made a bunch of vegan dips out of tofu, and I always had this feeling that it would make a good cheesecake base. I’m going to have to try this one…

  9. I really love the clean and simple layout of your website.

    And this cheesecake looks amazing – exactly like something I’d make for dessert at a summer get together and the fruit on the top is, no pun intended, the icing on the cake.

  10. That’s too bad because it is so pretty. And well, let’s face it, the regular version isn’t exactly light in fat and calories either. I like your variation.

  11. Wow, an interesting take on the recipe. Sounds good enough to try, and I don’t say that often about raw desserts, hehe. Thanks for being a part of the April Daring Bakers Challenge!

    Jenny of Jenny Bakes

Leave a Reply

