Cherry Almond Granola

parfait-2

I’ve been making my own granola for quite awhile now and don’t buy premade cereal. I’m always trying new recipes. My favorite breakfast is a yogurt parfait with fruit and granola. The rep from Stonyfield Yogurt sent me coupons to try Oikos Greek Yogurt, which I did for this parfait. I prefer full-fat yogurt and Oikos is non-fat so it was not as thick as I prefer and the taste seemed off, but is typical of nonfat milk items. It comes in plain which is wonderful because I only buy plain yogurt.

This week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays recipe is the Breakfast Granola Cookies which I will blog about on Sunday. It came at a perfect time because I just ran out of my previous granola.

parfait

This is a tasty recipe which includes not only rolled oats, but rye flakes (except I couldn’t find rye flakes and used Bob’s Red Mill 5-grain mix which included rye flakes and flax seeds). There are also sunflower seeds, pepitas, currants,¬† in addition to the dried cherries and almonds. The recipe also calls for milk powder and honey. To make the recipe vegan so I can eat it on my vegan days, I used soy milk powder and agave syrup instead.

This recipe makes a lot of granola, more than my granola container holds–so I packed some up and gave some to friends. But then disaster struck–I dropped my granola container (which broke) and spilled most of the granola all over¬† my kitchen floor. Luckily, approximately 2 cups stayed safe in the container. So now I need to make more granola…what recipe should I try next?

cherry-almond-granola

22 thoughts on “Cherry Almond Granola

  1. I used the same 5 grain mix because I couldn’t find rye flakes either.

    And in a cosmic coincidence, I am sitting here with my lunch of yogurt, blueberries, flax meal and a handful of granola (from Sunday’s recipe).

  2. Oh no!! I’m so glad you had granola saved after the “drop.” The granola looks fabulous. I haven’t yet made it for our SMS cookies; I was thinking about whipping some up tonight. It certainly looks delicious. I love your vegan sub-ins. Yummmmy!

  3. I’ve been eating the cherry almond granola the exact same way — albeit not nearly as stylish and pretty. Yogurt, fruit, and granola is one of my all time favorite breakfasts. Your parfait is beautiful.

  4. Did you like this granola, Wendy? I’m still trying to decide. It’s pretty sweet, imo, and I baked it for a full 2 hours so mine got pretty crispy (and I like it a bit softer). The milk powder was an interesting addition.

    I’ve been making my own granola for about 6 or 8 months. I recently made one from Tyler Florence that I liked a lot although I’m pretty used to my regular recipe and breakfast brings out the creature of habit in me.
    Nancy

  5. Molly’s french chocolate granola (orangette) has always looked fabulous to me. I don’t even use recipes when I make granola normally though. This one looks awesome.

  6. I love making my own granola too. You never run out of options and it’s a great field for experimenting. I like that you eat it with yogurt too, that’s my favourite way. Your photo looks great and the recipe sounds amazing, I’ll try it next :)

  7. This looks fabulous – my kind of breakfast. I am way too lazy to make my own cereal, but if I did, I know that this is the kind I’d want to make. Especially love the addition of the dried cherries.

  8. A dropped container of granola is my nightmare and my dog’s dream! My last granola was Alton Brown’s recipe with a little less sugar and half the oil and then I adjusted the fruit/nut amounts from the original so I could add sunflower seeds, dates, and dried mango. It turned out really good (and I’ve been meaning to post about it). I have a bag of dried cherries ready to go into my next batch.

  9. Your granola looks fabulous. I love fruit and yogurt parfaits, I need to start making them at home instead of going to starbucks. I am so glad that I am making this granola – first time for me – and the smell is promising and reviews positive. Sorry about your little accident – want me to send you some of my granola – it does make a ton!

Leave a Reply

