A Vegan Breakfast and Dinner

breakfast-quinoa

This week for Vegan Tuesday I made something for breakfast: Warm and Nutty Cinnamon Quinoa from 101 Cookbooks. Instead of cow’s milk, I used oat milk. I also used a mix of blackberries, blueberries, and pomegranate instead of just blackberries.

You can find the recipe HERE.

stir-fried-vegetables

I also made Stir-fried Vegetables with Lemongrass from the May 2009 issue of Food & Wine. No substitutions were needed as it was already a vegan recipe. This recipe was included in a section called “Speediest Stir-fries”. The problem with a lot of stir-fries is that there is a lot of prep. Once you start cooking, you’re done in a snap. The selling point for this recipe was that it didn’t involve a lot of prep and chopping. NOT true! I know my knife skills are not the best (major understatement) and I’m super slow (again not exaggerated), but it still involved a lot of chopping and prep.

You can find the recipe HERE.

This week Mare of Meet Me in the Kitchen joined the fun. Click HERE to see what she made. Also head over to Veggie Num Nums to see what Michele made.

17 thoughts on “A Vegan Breakfast and Dinner

  1. These both look really yummy…
    For some reason I never think to use quinoa as a breakfast grain. Sounds like an awesome combo, though the blackberries I can get here right now suck, so I won’t be able to try this exact version out for a while.
    Stirfry is a regular thing in my house. I love using asparagus in it!

  2. I swear, we must be thinking parallel these days. Or I’m just copying you :)

    I’ve been thinking about how to make a sweeter version of quinoa. And now I know!

  3. I’m not sure… I’ve been looking for the perfect recipe to try that quinoa thing, this breakfast of yours might be the one.

    Looks very nice anyways… fresh and easy to wake up to!

  4. Yummy! I love the quinoa for breakfast. I tried something similar a couple weeks ago, but yours looks way better with all that fruit.
    The stir-fry looks fabulous too. Lemongrass is such a great flavor.
    It all looks so good! I am glad I got in on the fun this week.

  5. Great Idea! I would love to join in on vegan Tuesdays. I am not vegan but love vegan dishes and want to help encourage people that vegan dishes can also be delicious!!

  6. Great looking breakfast! We had a lot of quinoa over Passover since it’s one of the only grains you can eat. Never thought to make it sweet and for breakfast! Thanks!

  7. That cinnamon breakfast quinoa sounds soooo good. I’ve seen it before on 101 Cookbooks, but you just reminded me that I’ve been meaning to try it. Yours look uber-delicious!

  8. 101 Cookbooks is one of my faves… and I have been using a lot of different types of grains for hot breakfast cereal, beyond the usual oatmeal, so this recipe looks right up my alley!

  9. Thanks so much for the post: so glad you enjoyed the Warm and Nutty Cinnamon Quinoa, from my book ChefMD’s Big Book of Culinary Medicine. 101 Cookbooks did a great job in shooting it, and you did too!

    ChefMD also offers 100 free, easy, quick and healthy recipes at ChefMD.com. Come visit: nutritionals, photos, Lifetime TV broadcast TV for each!
    Best regards,
    John La Puma, MD
    http://www.drjohnlapuma.com
    http://www.ChefMD.com
    n.b. Awesome photos: love them!

Leave a Reply

