{SMS} Honey Beescotti

I’ve joined another baking group–Sweet Melissa Sundays. We are going to bake our way through The Sweet Melissa Baking Book by Melissa Murphy. Melissa is the chef and co-owner of Sweet Melissa Pâtisserie in Brooklyn and the recipes in the book are based on ones made there. This time I’ve joined from the start, so no rewind recipes for me to catch up. Yay!

Lorelei of Mermaid Sweets started the group and selected the first recipe: Honey Beescotti.

honey-beescotti-3

These biscotti are flavored with almond, honey, and caraway seeds. At first I didn’t like the caraway seed flavoring, but it mellowed out after the first day. I used homemade candied lemon peel instead of the orange called for in the recipe. I also decorated some of the biscotti with a chocolate glaze.

honey-beescotti

Overall, I would say this recipe is okay. Not my favorite, but next time I will substitute out the caraway seeds for a different flavor.

19 thoughts on “{SMS} Honey Beescotti

  1. I left the caraway seeds out too so I’m hoping I’ll like them. Sorry they weren’t your favorite, but they do look wonderful! Maybe next week’s recipe will be better for you :)

  2. I left the caraway out, I just don’t like that flavor at all. I love the chocolate that you used to dip them in. Chocolate is so great with orange and I bet that these were wonderful!

  3. Your biscotti turned out beautifully! I’m so excited about our new baking group. It’s funny that you mention the caraway seeds because I forgot to mention in my post that I left them out (apparently that wasn’t a bad thing). I love the chocolate dipped biscotti, by the way :)

  4. Your biscotti are so pretty – love them on the blue/white! I’ll bet the lemon was good with the honey, and I’m relieved to know that the caraway flavor mellows out.
    Nancy

  5. It seems like people either loved the caraway seeds or hated them! Your biscotti look perfect! And the chocolate glaze is a great idea. My husband wouldn’t even try them, but maybe if I covered them in chocolate he’d rethink that decision!

  6. Ooh yours look so pretty! I used Lemon peel instead of the Orange, too! I’m glad I made that substitution. And I opted to leave out those carraway seeds. Yours look gorgeous – love that drizzle!

  7. I can’t believe there’s a baking book that I’ve never even heard of! It would be so much fun to be baking every Sunday. I’m just going to join in spirit…and admire from afar!
    Audrey

  8. Sorry you didn’t love them, I REALLY liked them. Your photos are beautiful and what a great idea to add chocolate. Thanks for joining the group, I really look forward to baking with you, you always turn out such delicious looking treats from your kitchen.

  9. This sounds like a great book! I think I would love these biscotti (without the caraway seeds!) Yours look professional — they are perfect!

Leave a Reply

