Millet Fried “Rice”

Millet is a grain seed that you probably know most commonly from bird food. It’s also a nutritious whole grain with loads of B-vitamins that has been becoming more and more popular in whole-grain cooking.
millet
This week I made Millet Fried “Rice” from Super Natural Cooking. This was my first time cooking/eating millet and I loved it. It has a nutty taste, almost earthy but not too earthy. Just the right level of earth.

The stir-fry is made like regular fried rice. The grain is pre-cooked, you cook the egg and tofu cubes, chop the veggies and throw everything together. I’m excited  about using millet in more recipes. everybody loves sandwiches recently posted about using millet in granola which I’m making the next time I need granola.

millet fried rice

You can find the recipe for Millet Fried “Rice” HERE. Enjoy! It’s wonderful.

12 thoughts on “Millet Fried “Rice”

  1. This looks great! I have used millet a couple times and really like it.
    I finally made the quinoa-almond muffins you posted about a little while ago from Veganomicon. Wonderful~! Thanks for sharing

  2. This sounds great! I love fried rice, so I expect that I would love fried “rice” equally well. I have not used millet before and am eager to give it a try!

  3. :) You know what, I’ve never had millet before either! Well, maybe possibly in a breakfast cereal, but I don’t think that counts.

    You really need to get yourself a great canoli! A good, fresh, crisp one – I’m on a quest myself to seek one out in my city.

    Thanks for your comment.

  4. Millet fried rice sounds fabulous! I made something similar with quinoa the other night. I love using whole grains in place of regular old rice. How delicious!

Leave a Reply

