Pane Siciliano and Panzanella

Pane Siciliano

There is something relaxing and cathartic about baking bread from scratch. It is intensely satisfying getting the “feel” and knowing when the dough needs more flour or more water or more time. I love baking bread.

Unfortunately, I sometimes bake too much bread. You may think it isn’t possible to bake too much bread–but my friends, co-workers, and family are bombarded with lots of baked goods from me. There is only so much I can give away and my freezer can only hold so much.imgp4033

I recently made Pane Siciliano from Peter Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice. The recipe made 3 loaves. Without thinking clearly, I baked the bread the same weekend I made croissants. I went a little overboard that weekend. Anyway, you probably know which we ate first.

We ate one loaf. It was good very good. It’s the first time I used semolina flour. Almost a week went by and my poor loaves were still sitting on the counter. I have plenty of bread crumbs in my freezer. My husband suggested French Toast, but I was thinking panzanella.

Springtime Panzanella

I made two different panzanella recipes, both from 101 Cookbooks: Spring Panzanella and Strawberry Panzanella. Both were delicious, but the strawberry one was killer. What made both of these even greater was that all the produce was locally grown bought at the farmer’s market and the bread homemade. How cool is that?

Strawberry Panzanella

Recipes

Spring Panzanella

Strawberry Panzanella

I’m submitting this to Yeastspotting, a weekly round-up of yeasted goods and bread.

18 thoughts on “Pane Siciliano and Panzanella

  1. I’m totally right with you when you write than it is very “relaxing and cathartic” to bake bread. I love baking bread too. I “feel” (how amazing, it is the same word for you) the dough and it is very sensual almost comforting ! Very great job ! I love your recipes !

    Cheers,

    Miette

  2. Well, I know some people that would argue that you could hardly ever have too much bread but I know where you’re coming from. That’s when you have to love all of those fantastic recipes, like panzanella, that were created specifically to use up old bread! It all looks super delish and I can only imagine how wonderful the strawberry panzanella is. I’ve been haunting the farmer’s market looking for strawberries and asparagus. Apparently it’s going to be a little bit longer here.

  3. I know exactly what you mean. I wish I had more friends and family close by to share treats with! Those loaves look wonderful. I love the shape!

  4. Wow! Two for the price of one!! I love the idea of having a nice savory and fresh panzanella and then topping it off with a scrumptious strawberry panzanella. What a perfect treat! I used to work in college at a restaurant called Panzanella! And hey, if you ever have extra bread on your hands, well, there’s plenty of hungry bloggers who love bread :)

  5. I’ve been dying to make panzanella. I’ve had my eye on Ina Garten’s recipe, but now you’ve got me wanting to try the ones from 101 cookbooks. I wish that I could keep up even a little with your bread baking pace!

  6. You are inspiring me to make more bread. I tend to go overboard sometimes too and do wish I had more family in town to share with. Just a few days ago, my husband had to contend with 2 kinds of cookies, blondies and TWD crumb cake – and I had taken most to work or shipped it out! He wasn’t complaining and in fact – made me pack it up so he could take ALL the leftovers on his business trip to London!

  7. I am obsessed with panzanella and I have never even had it! All last summer I kept saying, I need to make panzanella and never did it! I want to try that strawberry one! WOW!

    That and your almond croissants are two top “Must Makes!”

  8. You go girl with all the bread baking. Funny you’re running with it, I’m trying to get up the nerve to attempt a crawl.

    I have to admit to liking the savory panzanella over the sweet one though the sweet one is a great idea. Bet it would taste yummy with all kinds of berries.
    ~ingrid

  9. Pfff… There’s something totally nerve rackin’ and pathetic for me, to bake bread! LOL …you’re in on my deepest, darkest, ugliest secret… I cannot for the life of me, bake bread. It just won’t let me. All I could ever make… and very, very well at that… was cement bread. duh.

    Yours is beautiful, almost unbelievable… how I wish.

  10. Absolutely gorgeous bread :)

    I know exactly what you mean about baking too much bread, I do exactly the same thing.

    I’ve never made pane Siciliano before and I’ve bookmarked the recipe!

  11. Your loafs are gorgeous!
    For me, baking bread is very relaxing, too. The more stress I had during the week, the more I want to bake something ad the weekend. :-)

  12. The bread and your uses of it look terrific! I really like bread made with semolina. I really want to try more recipes from The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, but I haven’t found the time yet. Everything I have managed to make was great.

Leave a Reply

