Yes, I did it again.

But this time I made chocolate ones! And almond ones! and oh my, cheese ones!

choc-croissant

This was my second time making croissants from scratch. My first time was such a big achievement for me. It was a lot of work and faith because I didn’t know how they would turn out.

imgp4121

They were so successful and delicious, that I had no qualms about making them again when they came up as the next recipe for me to try out of The Art and Soul of Baking. This recipe is slightly different than Tartine’s recipe, but the method is the same.  Lots of rolling and turning and refrigerating the dough. It takes about 2 days to make them, so you do have to have a chunk of time to devote. Of course, much of the time is off-hand. You also need space to roll out the dough. And butter, lots of butter. :P

These made smaller croissants, so they aren’t as big and gorgeous as my first go-around. But the taste was definitely still there. Because I made all-plain the first go-around, I decided to make all the variations in the book this time. The recipe makes 24 decent sized croissants. I made six each of: chocolate, almond, cheese, and plain.

croissants chocolate filling

The chocolate and cheese were simple, you just had some of the grated ingredient before you roll the croissants. The almond ones required me to make an almond pastry filling made from almond paste, sugar, (more) butter, egg, lemon zest, vanilla, and a bit of flour.

croissants waiting to be baked

This recipe was a bit easier for me than the first time. It wasn’t painful to roll out the dough and turn it and cut it and shape it. I would almost say croissants are easy to make and I have absolutely no qualms about making them again. And I definitely will.

croissants waiting to be baked2

My favorite was the cheese one, because I’m a cheese freak. I used Baby Swiss, which is a semi-soft cheese that is milder and more melty than regular Swiss. The other flavors were quite tasty too.  You can find the recipe for both the croissants and the almond filling HERE.

imgp4188

I’m submitting this to Yeastspotting, a weekly round-up of yeasted goods and bread.

35 thoughts on “Yes, I did it again.

  1. Mmm, those look really good. I love how you decorated them based on the filling. Now you’ve got me wanting to thaw out the half batch of croissant dough that sitting in my freezer… =)

  2. Oh, those look fantastic! I’ve never seen pain au chocolat made using grated chocolate, just with chocolate batons – neat idea! It’s been a while since I’ve made croissants though; yours make me wish I had the time :)

  3. Wow, you make it look easy. I have always wanted to try because my hubby is half French and loves these, but have been too timid of the work and difficulty. Maybe now …. Thanks and congrats on all the success.

  4. I am so impressed. Your croissants look like they should be sitting in the case of a French patisserie! They look flaky and beautiful, I can only imagine how wonderful they must taste!

  5. Absolutely gorgeous! I’m so impressed. I’m glad you changed your mind about not doing this again. Pain au chocolat was my favorite morning treat when I visited Paris. It would be wonderful to think I could make them at home.

  6. Those chocolate croissants are calling my name! I’ve never felt an urge to make my own croissants but this post just might be enough to make me change my mind :) Great job!

  7. Shut up. I can’t believe you did it again. That is so AWESOME. OK, I am so making these this summer . . . AFTER my South Beach trip, of course. I can’t eat these BEFORE the trip, that would be disastrous! :)

    Great job!

  8. Wow! How impressive is that and to say that they are easy?!!! They really do look lovely especially the chocolate drizzled & almond topped ones.

    You go girl!
    ~ingrid

  9. Oh, that swiss croissant sounds divine (as do the chocolate and the almond, though). These are just gorgeous creations! I’m so impressed. You’ve totally inspired me to make croissants–never done it before. Man, these are so delicious-looking!

  10. MMMmmmmm! Makes me wish mine weren’t all gone…
    These look so fabulous, you just took me on a little trip to San Fran’s Mission district. I used to live like 4 blocks from Tartine, and was hooked on their croissants. I honestly can’t decide which I liked best: pain au chocolat, almond, or the ham and cheese ones.
    Next time I do a laminated dough, I’m definitely going to try out a couple variations- thanks for the inspiration!

  11. croissants are my all time favorite way to eat bread (sourdough from san fran a close 2nd)
    so when I saw this on tastespotting my heart skipped a beat.
    you did a wonderful job! I’m so ready for one.

  12. YESSSSSSSSSS!!! I am so glad they worked out!!! And I LOVE Yeastspotting! Haha I’ve never heard of it! These definitely need to make it on there!

  13. I’ve been meaning to try croissants for a long time, but haven’t gotten around to it. You give me hope that I may actually be able to pull it off. I’ve seen the Tartine recipe, and this one seems a little easier. Thanks.

  14. Thank you for some other informative site. The place else
    may just I am getting that type of info written
    in such a perfect way? I’ve a mission that I’m simply now
    running on, and I have been at the look out for such information.

Leave a Reply

