Thank You, Ulrike

cowcandies

Ulrike of Küchenlatein sent me some Muh Muhs, German Cow Candy. When the Tuesdays with Dorie Group baked the Carmel Crunch Bars, Ulrike could not find Heath Toffee Bits to top the bars. She mentioned in her post that she used German Cow Candy instead. I commented that it sounded delicious and it would be fun to try.

Soon after, I receive an email from Ulrike asking me for my address because she wanted to send me the candy. How cool is that?

German Cow Candy, or Sahne Muh-Muhs, are delicious. They are light cream caramels made with sugar, milk, sugar syrup, cream, and butter.

cowcandies2

11 thoughts on “Thank You, Ulrike

  1. I love this candy. We grew up on it. Since moving to a small city in the U.S. I can’t find it anywhere. My husband just suggested that I figure out how to make them… but that’s just not the same as the wonderful feeling you get when you open up the little paper and it melts in your mouth and you didn’t have to lift a finger to make them. :)

    My dream is to open a store/teahouse that will serve my guests little delights just like these. Maybe I will have to make them after all… or find out how to import them!

  2. I grew up in Cumberland, MD, and a produce market called the Fruitbowl used to sell these candies in the bulk food section. I would love to buy some but can’t figure out how or where.

  3. My grandmother used to buy this candy for us when we were kids at the West Side Markey in cleveland, ohio. I haven’t seen it in years so I googled it..wow….to even to the wrapper..brings back to many memories!

  4. hi there,
    this is nicolas from germany. i am definitley the biggest fan of those. i grew up with it, and every time i scratched my knees in the kindergarten, i got some german cow candies for consolation.

    “german cow candy” sounds funny, but it won’t tell you the whole story. the original product wasn’t invented or produced in germany. it was an eastern bloc import and called “LUXURY CREAM FUDGE – Made in Poland”.

    the special taste was sugery and brittle. there was no similar product in reach. all other toffees and candies were hard like glas or unbelievable tenacious. and no one called it CREAM FUDGE. we all called it “kuhbonbons” because of the brown cow on the paper. the name “kuhbonbon” came up independently on many places in germany. at this time (about 1974) kuhbonbons were only available in the sweetie sections of upmarket department stores. there were not in a plastic bag. beautiful girls put them in small paperbags with a tiny shovel, payed per weight.

    when eastern bloc collapsed 1989 and the wall disappeared, kuhbonbons suddenly came out in germany as generic clones. the quality was not the original (somtimes too hard or too much water in the fudge) but they were on the right way.

    now cream fudge can be bought nearly everywhere in germany in excellent quality for about 1,39 up to 1,79 Euro per 400 g. that’s el cheapo, instead of 1974. both, REWE / PENNYMARKET and LIDL have acceptable qualities. ALDI has not. cream fudge from PENNYMARKET is slightly better and more original.

    the poland manufacturer seems to cease to exist.

    many greetings to U.S. :)

Leave a Reply

