Almond-Quinoa Muffins

imgp3845

Almond-Quinoa Muffins <— Recipe here.

I whipped these up last night to bring into work today. They were a breeze to throw together. From start to finish, baked and cooling on a rack it took less than 40 minutes. This is my kind of weeknight baking. I wasn’t planning on making anything, but as I was flipping through Veganomicon looking for recipes to make in the future  I happened upon these muffins. The ingredient list is long, but I happened to have all of them on hand. I even had the cooked, left-over quinoa that the recipe calls for in the refrigerator. I felt it was my karmic destiny to make them. :P

These muffins are made with whole-wheat pastry flour, almond meal, and whole quinoa, which gives them a hearty dense and crunchy texture. They are spiced with cinnamon and cardamon and sweetened with agave syrup and currants. I added some almond extract in addition to the vanilla in the recipe and topped each muffin with sliced almonds to up the almond flavor.  Overall, the recipe was a success. Even with P who will not eat quinoa–”because it looks funny” –when I make it for dinner.  These muffins are a fun way to use up leftover quinoa.

imgp3842

7 thoughts on “Almond-Quinoa Muffins

  1. These look really great. I love how you work some vegan dishes into your rotation. While I am not vegetarian/vegan, it is really great to see the wonderful variety of option available for cooking and baking this way!

  2. I love quinoa. It’s a true superfood! And it sounds like it would be uber delicious in these wonderfully spiced muffins. I love the idea of it adding a nice crunchy texture! Yum!

  3. I am really interested in making these. We have been eating alot of quinoa lately and I had my leftovers with soy milk, strawberries and a little brown sugar the other morning.
    I am really thinking about getting this book. You make it look so good!

  4. I have been putting cooked quinoa in my spaghetti sauce, chili, soups ect…it’s packed with protein and great fiber. I never thought about sneaking it into muffins or breads! :) Thanks for the great idea!

Leave a Reply

