Spicy Asian Stir-Fry with Whole-Wheat Linguine & Vegan Sunshine Muffins

imgp3811

Most of the time, the food I make for Vegan Tuesdays has been some sort of whole grain with some sort of legume or bean or something all mixed up. I wanted to make something slightly different so when I saw this recipe in this month’s Vegetarian Times, I knew I had to make it.

Okay, the decision was not that easy because I almost made Quinoa Salad with Black Beans and Mango from Veganomicon. I am still going to make the quinoa salad, I have the mango {it’s my second mango for this salad, my first one went bad before I could use it}.

The stir-fry was easy to throw together and like all stir-fries required a bit of prep. It’s chock full of veggies and it’s only 330 calories for a 2 cup serving. How cool is that? I cooked with bok choy for the first time.

Spicy Asian Stir-Fry with Whole-Wheat Linguine

Adapted from Vegetarian Times, March 2009
  • 8 ounces whole-wheat linguine
  • 1 tablespoon peanut oil
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small bok choy, chopped {I used leaves and all}
  • 1 1/2 cups broccoli florets
  • 1/3 cup of snow peas, halved
  • 1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced {the original recipe said to use half, but what do you do with the other half?}
  • 2 tablespoons hoisin sauce
  • 1 tablespoon Sriratcha {always a good thing}
  • 1/4 cup chopped peanuts
  1. Cook pasta according to directions. Reserve 1 cup of the cooking liquid, drain, and set aside.
  2. Heat oil in wok over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and sauté until onion is golden, 5 to 7 minutes.
  3. Add the veggies, stir-frying for five minutes. Add 1/2 cup of water, cover, and simmer for 5 minutes. Stir in hoisin and sriratcha. Stir in linguine and 1/2 cup of the reserved cooking liquid. Add more if stir-fry seems dry. Serve and garnish each serving with chopped peanuts. Enjoy!

Makes 4,  two-cup servings.

imgp3822

For something a little sweet, I made Carrot-Pineapple Sunshine Muffins from Veganomicon. You can find the recipe HERE. These muffins are made with whole-wheat pastry flour, ground flax seed, and brown sugar. They are full of shredded carrots, crushed pineapple, and raisins. For liquid, a little bit of canola oil and some pineapple juice. They are spiced with ground ginger and cinnamon. All-in-all, these muffins are very tasty and moist and sound like they should be healthy, but probably are just a healthy-sounding sweet breakfast treat.

I’m falling in love with vegan baking. It’s so easy and quick and the results are outstanding. I’m going to try out some vegan chocolate-raspberry cookies next so  be on the look out for those soon.

imgp3824

10 thoughts on “Spicy Asian Stir-Fry with Whole-Wheat Linguine & Vegan Sunshine Muffins

  1. That’s a mouth full both the title of your post and the dish and dessert.

    What made you start trying vegan, if yo don’t mind me asking?!
    ~ingrid

  2. I love stirfry. It’s so amazing that one dish can pack so much flavor. I can’t wait to try the stirfry with some of my new chickenless strips (I’m obsessed with them). This looks great!

  3. Wow…I am going to have to start stealing a lot more from over here….your food looks wonderful on a consistent basis. Very nice job on these two recipes for sure.

Leave a Reply

